Sign up for email updates from SBAReceive helpful business tips and upcoming events in your area.


Billings Alternate Work Site
222 N. 32nd Street Suite 200
Billings, MT 59101
United States
Phone: 406-869-8421
Hours of Operation:
Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

About Montana District Office

The Montana District Office is the only SBA office in Montana and serves all 56 counties. Montana is the fourth largest state covering approximately 147,046 square miles. Greatest distance from east to west boundary: approximatley 550 miles, greatest distance from north to south boundary: approximately 320 miles in western Montana and approximately 280 miles in eastern Montana. Thousands of miles are traveled each year providing financial and business assistance to the small business constituency of Montana.

Montana has 30,641 small businesses with employees covered under the Worker's Compensation System. There are another estimated 120,173 self employed workers. Over 99% of businesses in the state are classified as "small" and 89.65% of all employment in the state is in small business. Small businesses are very important to Montana's economy. Recent covered employment data shows that about 41 percent of the state's wage and salary jobs are with firms employing fewer than 20 people—and about 75 percent are with businesses employing fewer than 100 people. Only 20 businesses are classified as "large" by SBA standards.

The Montana District Office services a population of 904,433 individuals of which 364,127 are either over 65 or younger than 18 years old. The remaining population of 538.068 are clients or prospective SBA clients. There are also 78,123 government employees and 27,600 farms and ranches in the state. The population of the state is 90.6% non minority. Native Americans comprise 6.2% and other minorities comprise 3.2% of the population. Montana's gross state product is over $21.7 million (2000).

 

Montana District Office

Staff Directory

 

Wayne Gardella District Director 406.441.1080 wayne.gardella@sba.gov
Crystal Baker Economic Development Specialist 406.441.1089 crystal.baker@sba.gov
Rena Carlson Lender Relations Specialist 406.441.1086 lorena.carlson@sba.gov
Kelly Dixon Business Opportunity Specialist 406.441.1085 kelly.dixon@sba.gov
John Donovan Business Opportunity Specialist 406.441.1087 john.donovan@sba.gov
Sharon Franjevic District Support Assistant 406.441.1088 sharon.franjevic@sba.gov
Roger Hopkins Deputy District Director 406.441.1083 roger.hopkins@sba.gov
Tom White Lender Relations Specialist 406.441.1078 thomas.white@sba.gov
John Klaman Senior Area Manager - Billings 406.869.8421 john.klaman@sba.gov

 

Encore Entrepreneurs

An Introduction to Starting Your Own Business

LAUNCH COURSE

Need Help Writing a Business Plan? Our step-by-step tool makes it easy.  Start Your plan.

Get Local Assistance Right in Your Area

Counseling, mentoring, and training from an SBA District Office, SCORE Chapter, Small Biz Development Center or Women’s Biz Center in your area.

FIND RESOURCES