SBA Announces South Carolina Small Business Person of the Year Finalists

Advisory Date: Wednesday, April 3, 2013
Release Date: Wednesday, April 3, 2013
Related State:
South Carolina
Contact: Anna Huntley, 803-253-3753

The SBA South Carolina District Office announces the following finalists for the 2013 South Carolina Small Business Person of the Year award:

  • Murray Compton, President, Appalachian Springs, LLC in North Charleston;
  • Shannon Ellis, Owner, Ellis Management (d.b.a. The Willcox) in Aiken;
  • Jerry Ellison, President and CEO, JBE Incorporated in Hartsville;
  • Noah Leask, President and CEO, Ishpi Information Technologies, Inc. in Mount Pleasant; and
  • Louis Lynn, President and CEO, ENVIRO AgScience in Columbia.

The SBA will announce the state’s 2013 Small Business Person of the Year winner later this month. At that time, the SBA will also announce the winners of its new South Carolina Small Business & Advocacy Awards competition. The South Carolina Small Business Person of the Year winner will go on to compete for the national title during National Small Business Week, which runs June 17-21 this year. For more information on National Small Business Week, visit

All South Carolina award winners will be honored on Thursday, May 23, at the 2013 Salute to Small Business event in Columbia presented by the SBA, the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce and the South Carolina Coalition for Small Business and Entrepreneurship. In addition to the awards ceremony, the Salute will also include a small business procurement matchmaker, exhibitors and a dedicated networking space. For more information on the Salute event, visit

Get the Info That Matters Most to You With SBA Direct

Find information on:

(Select your topics)

Get Local Assistance Right in Your Area

Counseling, mentoring, and training from an SBA District Office, SCORE Chapter, Small Biz Development Center or Women’s Biz Center in your area.


Connect With Us

Region IV
233 Peachtree Street NE Suite 1800
Atlanta, GA 30303
United States
Phone: 404-331-4999
Fax: 404-331-2354