How do I get certified for special SBA programs?

Certification programs can help you market your business to both large business and government procurements. There are two core certification programs: the 8(a) Business Development Program and the HUBZone Program.

The SBA's 8(a) Business Development Program is an initiative that helps small disadvantaged businesses compete in the American economy. Program participation is divided into two stages. The developmental stage is designed to help 8(a) certified firms overcome their economic disadvantage by providing personalized business assistance in expanding their business and fostering meaningful business relationships. The transitional stage is designed to help program participants become more effective in both the large business and the government sector market in dealing with complex business deals and to prepare them for post 8(a) program expansion and development.

The HUBZone Empowerment Contracting Program is designed to stimulate economic development and create jobs in urban and rural communities. The program provides contracting opportunities to small businesses located in and hiring employees from Historically Underutilized Business Zones.

Get the Info That Matters Most to You With SBA Direct

Find information on:

(Select your topics)

Get Local Assistance Right in Your Area

Counseling, mentoring, and training from an SBA District Office, SCORE Chapter, Small Biz Development Center or Women’s Biz Center in your area.


join the community

  No relevant media for this area.

Stella Penizotto received an Associate’s Degree with Honors from Onondaga Community College in Early Childhood Education in 1990 and her...
Delaware’s Minority Small Business Person of the Year The U.S. Small Business Administration’s (SBA) Delaware District Office has named...
Shoppers at Portland Saturday Market have known him for years as the Duct-Tape Wallet Guy. But Garett Croft Stenson is moving on –...