Jump to Main Content
USA flagAn Official Website of the United States Government

SBA New Mexico District Office Recognizes 2014 New Mexico Small Business Week Award Winners

Release Date: 
Monday, May 26, 2014
Release Number: 
5-14 NM
Advisory Date: 
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Sandra Duran Poole, Public Information Officer

ALBUQUERQUE –The following New Mexico small businesses and small business advocates were honored during SBA’s Small Business Week.

Small Business Person of the Year
Michele “Shelly” Herbst, President/CEO

Marron and Associates, Inc.
Albuquerque, NM

Veteran Small Business Champion of the Year
Adolfo E. Vásquez, LTC USA (Ret.)

Procurement Technical Assistance Program Advisor – Veteran Specific
NM Small Business Development Center
Albuquerque, NM

Women in Business Champion of the Year
Chauling “Lynn” Armijo, President

Four Winds Mechanical Native Resource Development Company, Inc.
Albuquerque, NM

Financial Services Champion of the Year
Linda A.C. Ruckel, President
Advance Tax Services, Inc.
Santa Fe, New Mexico

Minority Small Business
Champion of the Year
Norma Valdez, Development Officer

The Loan Fund
Albuquerque, NM

Family-Owned Small Business of the Year
El Paragua, Atencio Family, Angela Atencio-Sanchez, President

Santa Cruz, NM

Region VI and New Mexico Small Business Entrepreneurial Success Award
Donn Wiese, President/General Manager

TSAY Construction & Services, LLC
Ohkay Owingeh, NM

2014 Regional Subcontractor of the Year
Denise Vigil, President

Santa Fe, NM

SBA 7(a) Small Business Lender of the Year
Wells Fargo Bank

Albuquerque, NM

SBA 504  3rd Party Lender of the Year
New Mexico Bank & Trust

Albuquerque, NM

Many members of the small business community came out to honor and support the accomplishments of the winners.

Yolanda Garcia Olivarez, Region VI Regional Administrator and keynote speaker praised the winners for their contributions to their communities and the economy overall.  She also gave a synopsis of how the U.S. Small Business Administration is making a difference in the community in the areas of access to capital, government contracting, counseling, disaster assistance, exporting and the Affordable Care Act.  Regional Administrator Olivarez highlighted Region VI winners from New Mexico:  Denise Vigil of Vigil Enterprises as Subcontractor of the Year and Donn Wiese of TSAY Construction & Services, LLC as the Entrepreneurial Success Award Winner.


New Mexico District Director, John Woosley states, “The 2014 Small Business Week winners are not only successful in business but are highly visible in their community.  The 2014 New Mexico Small Business Week Awards honored the best of the best in New Mexico small business!”


# # #