Fairness Boards

About the Regional Fairness Boards

The SBA Administrator is required to appoint 10 Small Business Regulatory
Fairness Boards. The boards are comprised of five volunteer small business owners.
The 10 regional cities where they are based and the areas they cover are:

Boston: New England states;
New York: Mid Atlantic states;
Philadelphia: South Atlantic states;
Atlanta: Southeastern states;
Chicago: Midwestern states;
Dallas: Southern states;
Kansas City: Heartland states;
Denver: Rocky Mountain states;
San Francisco: Western states; and
Seattle: Northwestern states.

Are you interested in becoming a Regional Regulatory
Fairness Board member? Please
let us know.

    • The Regulatory Fairness Boards Can: Receive a copy of your appraisal form. Hold a follow-up meeting on your concern. Report on significant enforcement issues; and reflect all concerns in their report to...
    • Region 1 – Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont Region 2 – New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands Region 3 – Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania,...


    National Ombudsman and Assistant Administrator

    Brian Castro was appointed National Ombudsman and Assistant Administrator for Regulatory Enforcement Fairness at the U.S. Small Business Administration in August 2013.

    When small businesses...

    Connect With Us

    Office of Ombudsman
    409 3rd Street, S.W. Suite 7125
    Washington, DC 20416
    United States
    Fax: 202 481 5719
    TTY/TTD: 800-877-8339
    Toll Free: 888-734-3247