2017 Hurricane Recovery: Get information about disaster assistance, or find out how you can help.

NM 13809-02 SBA Amends Disaster Declaration to Include Private, Nonprofit Organizations in Additional New Mexico Counties and the Navajo Nation

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – Low-interest federal disaster loans are now available to certain private, nonprofit organizations (PNPs) in New Mexico following the amendment to President Obama’s October 30, 2013, major disaster declaration for Public Assistance (PA) as a result of severe storms, flooding and mudslides that occurred September 9 - 22, 2013, announced Jeanne Hulit, Acting Administrator of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).  PNPs that provide essential services of a governmental nature are eligible for assistance.

SBA disaster assistance is now available in the New Mexico counties of De Baca, Dona Ana, Harding, Lincoln, Otero, Rio Arriba, San Juan, the Navajo Nation and the Isleta, Sandia and Taos Pueblos. 

The counties of Catron, Chaves, Cibola, Colfax, Eddy, Guadalupe, Los Alamos, McKinley, Mora, San Miguel, Sandoval, Santa Fe, Sierra, Socorro and Torrance were included in the original declaration.

“PNP organizations should contact the Mew Mexico Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHSEM) Recovery Unit at (505) 476-9601 to obtain information about local briefings.  At the briefings, PNP representatives will need to provide information about their organization,” said Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West.  FEMA will use that information to determine if the PNP provides an “essential governmental service” and is a “critical facility” as defined by law.  If so, FEMA may provide the PNP with a Public Assistance grant for their eligible costs.  If not, FEMA may refer the PNP to SBA for disaster loan assistance.

SBA may lend PNPs up to $2 million to repair or replace damaged or destroyed real estate, machinery and equipment, inventory, and other business assets.  SBA can also lend additional funds to help with the cost of making improvements that protect, prevent or minimize the same type of disaster damage from occurring in the future.

For certain private, nonprofit organizations of any size, SBA also offers Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDL) to help meet working capital needs caused by the disaster.  EIDLs may be used to pay fixed debts, payroll, accounts payable and other bills that cannot be paid because of the disaster’s impact.  EIDL assistance is available regardless of whether the PNP suffered any property damage.

The interest rate is 2.875 percent with terms up to 30 years.  The filing deadline to return applications for property damage is December 30, 2013.  The deadline to return economic injury applications is July 29, 2014. 

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955 or e-mailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov.  Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing may call (800) 877-8339.  For more information about SBA’s disaster assistance programs, visit http://www.sba.gov/disaster


SBA Field Operations Center - West, P.O. Box 419004, Sacramento, CA 95841
# # #

Release Number: 
NM 13809-02
Release Date: 
Tuesday, December 3, 2013 - 5:00am
Richard Jenkins (916) 735-1500
Related State: 
New Mexico
Field Operations Center: