SBA Adds Additional Counties to Kentucky Declaration; Deadline to Apply for Physical Damage Disaster Loans is July 12

ATLANTA – The U.S. Small Business Administration announces today that Anderson, Boyd, Breckinridge, Butler, Clay, Clinton, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Green, Greenup, Jackson, Hancock, Henderson, Hopkins, Knott, Larue, Leslie, Magoffin, Mason, Ohio, Owen, Powell, Pulaski, Russell, Taylor and Wayne counties have been added to the disaster declaration for Private Non-Profit Organizations (PNPs) that do not provide critical services of a governmental nature. The deadline to submit disaster loan applications is July 12 for damages caused by severe storms, flooding, mudslides and tornadoes that began on May 1, 2010.

PNPs located in Allen, Anderson, Boyd, Breckinridge, Butler, Clay, Clinton, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Green, Greenup, Hancock, Hart, Henderson, Hopkins, Jackson, Knott, Larue, Leslie, Lewis, Logan, Magoffin, Mason, Metcalfe, Monroe, Ohio, Owen, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Taylor and Wayne counties in Kentucky are eligible to apply to SBA. Examples of eligible non-critical PNP organizations include, but are not limited to, food kitchens, homeless shelters, museums, libraries, community centers, schools and colleges.

PNPs may borrow up to $2 million to repair or replace damaged or destroyed real estate, machinery and equipment, inventory and other business assets. The SBA may increase a loan up to 20 percent of the total amount of disaster damage to real estate and/or leasehold improvements, as verified by SBA, to make improvements that lessen the risk of property damage by future disasters of the same kind.

The SBA offers Economic Injury Disaster Loans to help meet working capital needs, such as ongoing operating expenses to PNPs of all sizes. Economic Injury Disaster Loan assistance is available regardless of whether the PNP suffered any physical property damage.

Interest rates are as low as 3 percent with terms up to 30 years. Loan amounts and terms are set by the SBA and are based on each applicant’s financial condition.

Disaster loan information and application forms may be obtained by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for people with speech or hearing disabilities) Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. EDT or by sending an e-mail to Applications can also be downloaded from Completed applications should be mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155.

PNPs may visit SBA’s secure website at to apply for disaster loans.

The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is July 12, 2010. The deadline to return economic injury applications is February 11, 2011.

# # #
For more information about the SBA’s Disaster Loan Programs, visit our website at

Release Number: 
10–466, KY 12170/12171
Release Date: 
Tuesday, June 1, 2010 - 4:00am
Michael Lampton 404-331-0333
Related State: 
Field Operations Center: