2017 Hurricane Recovery: Get information about disaster assistance, or find out how you can help.


ATLANTA - The U.S. Small Business Administration is reminding small businesses that March 8 is the filing deadline for federal economic injury disaster loans available in the declared counties of Bedford, Benton, Coffee, Decatur, Dickson, Franklin, Hickman, Humphreys, Lewis, Lincoln, Marshall, Maury, Moore, Perry, Rutherford, Wayne and Williamson in Tennessee. The SBA declared a disaster as a result of excessive rain and extensive flooding that began May 1, 2009.

“When the Secretary of Agriculture issues a disaster declaration to help farmers recover from damages and losses to crops, the Small Business Administration issues a declaration to eligible entities affected by the same disaster,” said Frank Skaggs, director of SBA’s Field Operations Center East.

Under this declaration, the SBA’s Economic Injury Disaster Loan program is available to eligible farm-related and nonfarm-related entities that suffered financial losses as a direct result of this disaster. Agricultural producers, farmers and ranchers are not eligible to apply to SBA.

The loan amount can be up to $2 million with a 4 percent interest rate and terms up to 30 years. The SBA determines eligibility based on the size of the entity, type of activity and its financial resources. Loan amounts and terms are set by the SBA and are based on each applicant’s financial condition. These working capital loans may be used to pay fixed debts, payroll, accounts payable, and other bills that could have been paid had the disaster not occurred. The loans are not intended to replace lost sales or profits.

Disaster loan information and application forms may be obtained by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the hearing-impaired) Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., EST or by sending an e-mail to disastercustomerservice@sba.gov. Loan applications can be downloaded from the SBA’s Web site at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance. Completed applications should be mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155.

Those affected by the disaster may apply for disaster loans from SBA’s secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela/.

Completed loan applications must be returned to SBA no later than March 8, 2010.

Release Number: 
10-224 TN 11839
Release Date: 
Monday, February 8, 2010 - 5:00am
Mark Ihenacho: 404-331-0333
Related State: 
Field Operations Center: