Coronavirus (COVID-19): Relief options and Additional Resources

Brian Geisel at the Top of SBA’s Class of 2020 Small Business Week Awardees for Massachusetts

Annual Celebration to be held on May 5th at the Doubletree Hilton in Westborough
Release Date: 
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Release Number: 
Contact:, 617-565-8510

BOSTON — SBA Massachusetts District Director Robert H. Nelson announced this year’s National Small Business Week honorees today.

We are all very excited to announce our 2020 state awardees representing a wide variety of sectors from across the state who are growing jobs and helping to build and support vibrant communities,” said District Director Bob Nelson.  “Small businesses and the important role they play here in the Commonwealth’s economy is truly significant; and recognizing their many accomplishments during National Small Business Week is an honor and very humbling.”

Every year since 1963, the President of the United States has issued a proclamation announcing National Small Business Week, which recognizes the critical contributions of America’s entrepreneurs and small business owners.

As part of National Small Business Week, this year being celebrated May 3rd – 9th, the U.S. Small Business Administration takes the opportunity to highlight the impact of outstanding entrepreneurs, small business owners, and others from all 50 states and U.S. territories.

Massachusetts honorees will be celebrated at the annual awards luncheon at Doubletree Hilton in Westborough on Tuesday, May 5th.  For more information, visit:


2020 Massachusetts Honorees:


Small Business Person of the Year
Brian Geisel, CEO
Geisel Software
Worcester, MA

Financial Services Champion of the Year
Laurie Driscoll, Vice President
South Eastern Economic Development Corp.
Taunton, MA

Minority Owned Business of the Year
Tony Fields, CEO
Cleartech Group
Leominster, MA

Veteran Owned Business of the Year
David Winchester, Owner
Ready 2 Run Graphics & Signs
Worcester, MA

Woman Owned Business of the Year
Ruth Agbaji, CEO
Code Wiz
Westford, MA

Microenterprise of the Year
Jeffrey Greim, CEO
Jeff’s Granola
Holyoke, MA

Homebased Business of the Year
Christopher Doonan, CEO
CS & Poe Corporation
Billerica, MA

Family Owned Business of the Year (MA & New England)
Dan Evans, President
Evans Machine Co.
Brockton, MA

Young Entrepreneur of the Year (MA & New England)
Jennifer Lee LaSala, Owner
Jennifer Lee’s Shoppe
Boston, MA

8A Graduate of the Year
Marianne Lancaster, Owner
Lancaster Packaging
Hudson, MA

Small Manufacturer of the Year
Kathryn Ernst, Owner
Twist Bakery and Cafe
Millis, MA

Subcontractor of the Year
Monica Lee Rommel, CEO
Specialty Materials
Lowell, MA





About the U.S. Small Business Administration
The U.S. Small Business Administration makes the American dream of business ownership a reality. As the only go-to resource and voice for small businesses backed by the strength of the federal government, the SBA empowers entrepreneurs and small business owners with the resources and support they need to start, grow or expand their businesses, or recover from a declared disaster. It delivers services through an extensive network of SBA field offices and partnerships with public and private organizations. To learn more, visit

The SBA does not endorse the organizations sponsoring linked websites, and does not endorse the views they express or the products/services they offer