COVID-19 relief options and additional resources

Massachusetts Entrepreneurs Honored as Part of National Small Business Week

Victoria Bondoc, Gemini Industries to Compete for National Honors
Release Date: 
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Release Number: 
Norman Eng (617) 565-8510

BOSTON – District Director, Robert H. Nelson, announced today this year’s National Small Business Week honorees for Massachusetts. 

“Small Business Week is extremely important nationwide and here in the Commonwealth, as a way to recognize both significant achievements and community support by our amazing small businesses and champions." said SBA Massachusetts District Director Robert H. Nelson. "We are honored to present awards to 12 of the state’s best that define true entrepreneurial spirit here in the Bay State.”

Each year since 1963, the President of the United States has issued a proclamation announcing the celebration of National Small Business Week.  This year, the dates are April 30 - May 6 with national events planned in Washington, D.C., New York City, Indianapolis, Dallas and Fresno, Calif. 

Winners will be honored at the annual National Small Business Week Awards Luncheon at Granite Links in Quincy on May 2nd.  For more information, visit: SBA Massachusetts District Office.


2017 SBA Massachusetts NSBW Honorees:

NATIONAL SCORE Chapter of the Year

SCORE Boston – Chapter #20

Boston, Massachusetts

Laura Colcord, Co-Chair / Howard Fine, Past Co-Chair


Small Business Person of the Year & Woman Small Business Owner of the Year

Gemini Industries Inc.

Burlington, MA

Victoria Bondoc, President/CEO


Small Business Exporter of the Year

McLane Research Laboratories Inc.

East Falmouth, MA

Yuki Honjo, President


Veteran Small Business Owner of the Year

Machado Consulting

Worcester, MA

Helder Machado, President/CEO


Jeffrey Butland Family Owned Business of the Year

Camio Custom Cabinetry

Canton, MA

Chris Constantino, President


Minority Small Business Owner of the Year

Archipelago Strategies Group

East Boston, MA

Josiane Martinez, President


Young Entrepreneur of the Year

Sugarbabies Inc.

Allston, MA

Eytan Nicholson, President


Microenterprise of the Year

Yummy Treasures

Pittsfield, MA

Greg, Beth and Zac Carpenter


Small Business Manufacturer of the Year

Darmann Abrasive Products

Clinton, MA

Thomas Puthanangady, President/CEO


Financial Services Champion

Rockland Trust

Brockton, MA

Gerard Nadeau


Small Business Development Center Excellence and Innovation

Massachusetts Export Center

Boston, MA

Paula Murphy


8(a) Graduate of the Year

Mill City Environmental Corporation

Lowell, MA

Brian L. Chapman, President


Subcontractor of the Year

Odic Inc.

Devens, MA

Matthew Hickcox, President