COVID-19 relief options and additional resources

SBA accepting nominations for National and District Small Business Week awards

Release Date: 
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Release Number: 
Nina Ramon |

SAN ANTONIO – The U.S. Small Business Administration is now accepting nominations for its 2019 National and District Small Business Week Awards, including the annual Small Business Person of the Year.

“These awards are our salute to the spirit of entrepreneurship within our district and the nation,” said Laketa Henderson, SBA Deputy District Director. “Small businesses contribute significantly to their local communities and National Small Business Week events celebrate their perseverance, innovation, and achievements.”

SBA Awards given in celebration of National Small Business Week on May 5-11, 2019 include the following:

  • Small Business Person of the Year
  • Small Business Exporter of the Year
  • Phoenix Awards for Disaster Recovery
  • Federal Procurement Awards

All nominations for the national award categories must be submitted no later than 2 p.m. CST, Jan. 9, 2019.  National award category information can be found at

In addition to these National Small Business Week awards, the SBA’s San Antonio District Office will be presenting district specific awards in several categories. They include:

  • Entrepreneur Success Award
  • Young Entrepreneur of the Year
  • Family-Owned Business of the Year
  • Encore Entrepreneur of the Year
  • Minority Small Business of the Year
  • Veteran Small Business of the Year
  • Women-Owned Business of the Year
  • Small Business Champion of the Year
  • Home-Based Business Champion of the Year
  • Financial Services Champion of the Year
  • Small Business Media Advocate of the Year


All nominations for the district award categories must be submitted no later than 3 p.m. CDT, February 13, 2019.  More information about the district award categories can be found at

All nomination packages must be hand delivered or mailed to the nearest SBA Office.  Email submissions of SBA Awards forms will not be accepted as they contain personally identifiable information (PII).

For questions contact Nina Ramon at the San Antonio District Office at (210) 403-5900 or at



The SBA San Antonio District Office located in the heart of San Antonio in the Hipolito F. Garcia Federal Building, across the street from the Alamo, with a service area that spans across 55 counties within Texas. The counties served are: Atascosa, Bandera, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Comal, Concho, Crockett, De Witt, Dimmit, Edwards, Fayette, Frio, Gillespie, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hays, Irion, Jackson, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Kinney, La Salle, Lampasas, Lavaca, Lee, Live Oak, Llano, Mason, Maverick, McCulloch, McMullen, Medina, Menard, Real, Refugio, San Saba, Schleicher, Sutton, Tom Green, Travis, Uvalde, Val Verde, Victoria, Web, Williamson, Wilson, and Zavala.

About the U.S. Small Business Administration

The U.S. Small Business Administration makes the American dream of business ownership a reality. As the only go-to resource and voice for small businesses backed by the strength of the federal government, the SBA empowers entrepreneurs and small business owners with the resources and support they need to start, grow or expand their businesses, or recover from a declared disaster. It delivers services through an extensive network of SBA field offices and partnerships with public and private organizations. To learn more, visit