Coronavirus (COVID-19): Relief options and Additional Resources

SBA DFW District Office announces 2014 Small Business Award Winners

Release Date: 
Sunday, April 20, 2014
Release Number: 
Advisory Number: 
Ahmad Goree (817) 684-5539

FORTH WORTH, TX— The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Dallas/Fort Worth District Office has named Nick Pencis, President & CEO of Stanley’s Famous Pit Bar-B-Q, Inc. in Tyler, Texas as the 2014 DFW District Small Business Person of the Year. At yearend 2013, Stanley’s achieved sales of $2.5 million, which represents an increase of 145% over the previous year. Stanley’s currently has 19 employees.

Pencis has been in the food business all his life and has held almost every job in the business since the age of 15. His father was an executive chef and Pencis remembers growing up in the kitchen. In his twenties, Pencis spent several years touring on the road as a drummer for a rock band but he dreamt of starting his own business one day. In 2008, Pencis and his wife Jen bought Stanley’s Famous Pit-Bar-B-Q.

Pencis along with other small business award winners will be recognized during the annual DFW Small Business Awards Luncheon at the Sheraton Hotel in Arlington, June 12th. For details on the luncheon, please call Ahmad Goree at 817-684-5539.

The honorees competed with others from across the 72 Texas counties that the DFW district office covers. Each winner will receive an award from Herbert Austin, DFW district director and be addressed by Yolanda Olivarez, SBA regional administrator.

“These entrepreneurs and advocates will be recognized for their outstanding work in business and in the community” said Herbert Austin.

The U.S. Small Business Administration’s National Small Business Week will be held May 12 to 16. This year’s events will take place all across the country and feature forums discussing the small business landscape, business coaching services, matchmaking events as well as networking opportunities and award ceremonies. The week’s events will conclude in Washington, D.C. where the 2014 National Small Business Person of the Year will be announced.

The locations and dates for National Small Business Week are:

San Francisco – May 12
Kansas City – May 13
Boston and Washington, D.C. – May 15
Washington, D.C. – May 16

The following are the DFW district winners:

  1. Small Business Person of the Year
    Nick Pencis, President & CEO, Stanley’s Famous Pit BBQ Inc.
    Tyler, TX
  2. Veteran Small Business Champion of the Year
    Jim Reid, CEO, Momentum Texas, Inc.
    Dallas, TX
  3. Woman in Business Champion of the Year
    Rebecca Ann Hicks, Managing Partner, Hicks Law Group
    Dallas, TX
  4. Financial Services Champion of the Year
    Jimmy Bennett, Jimmy Ray Bennett CPA
    Arlington, TX
  5. Minority Small Business Champion of the Year
    Francine D. Hawkins-Alegeh, CEO, F. D Hawkins Painting and Remodeling
    Dallas, TX
  6. Family Owned Business of the Year
    Marvin Groves, Jr., President, Marvin Groves Electric Co, Inc.
    Wichita Falls, TX
  7. 8(a) Graduate of the Year
    Alvaro Nunez, Jr., President, Benco Construction Services
    Fort Worth, TX
  8. Small Business Exporter of the Year
    Gregg Cobb, President & CEO, Precise Energy Products
    Fort Worth, TX
  9. Home- Based Business Champion of the Year
    Gregory Jackman Sakwa, CEO, Greycon Inc.
    DBA Grey Construction
    Arlington, TX
  10. Young Entrepreneur of the Year
    John Lee Stoiloff, President, Stoiloff Insurance Company
    Wichita Falls, TX
  11. Entrepreneurial Success of the Year
    Evan Shelan, CEO,
    Longview, TX
  12. SCORE Chapter of the Year
    Fort Worth SCORE Chapter 120
    Fort Worth, TX
  13. SBDC of the Year
    Best Southwest SBDC
    Cedar Hill, TX

EDITOR’S NOTE: Contact information and photos of each winner is available by contacting