COVID-19 relief options and additional resources

SBA Honors National Small Business Champions

Release Date: 
Tuesday, May 25, 2010
Release Number: 
Advisory Number: 
Dennis Byrne (202) 205-6567

WASHINGTON – Thirteen small business owners and leaders of small business support organizations were hailed today by the U.S. Small Business Administration for their outstanding support of entrepreneurs. The Champion Awards were presented today in Washington, D.C., as part of the annual observance of National Small Business Week.

“The SBA is proud to honor these men and women as true champions of small business, whose tireless efforts have provided tangible and significant support to small businesses and to their communities,” said SBA Administrator Karen G. Mills. “They provide the counseling, advice and support that small business owners need, and foster an environment where the spirit of entrepreneurship can flourish resulting in growth and job creation.”

This year’s Champion Awards recognize winners from Arizona, Delaware, Massachusetts, New Mexico, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin. For more detailed information on all the winners please go to and click on Winners.

The Champion Awards were presented at the Champion Award Winners Gala, sponsored by VISA.

The winners are:

2010 National Financial Services Champion
Mark David Peterson
Bridgeway Capital, Inc.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

2010 National SBA Young Entrepreneur
Dan Price
Gravity Payments
Seattle, Washington

2010 National Veteran Champion
Lloyd Calderon
New Mexico Department of Veterans’ Services
Veteran Business Development Office
Albuquerque, New Mexico

2010 National Exporter of the Year
Dan Nanigian
Nanmac Corporation
Framingham, Massachusetts

2010 Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Business of the Year
Carl Treankler
Larry Treankler
Terry Hanstedt
Gary Lofquist
CEO, Partner
MCL Industries, Inc.
Pulaski, Wisconsin

2010 National Home Based Business Champion
Boyd L. Wright
Wright Made Products
Grand Forks, North Dakota

2010 National Minority Champion
Eddie Reyes
HUB Coordinator
University of North Texas
Denton, Texas

2010 National Women in Business Champion
Carolyn Brown
The Accountant’s Office
Chandler, Arizona

2010 Entrepreneurial Success
Robert A. Pancake II
Managing Member
Steven W. Wheat
Managing Member
High 5 LLC
Buffalo Wild Wings
Bear, Delaware

For additional information on Small Business Week 2010, including a full schedule of events and information on all award winners, go online to

Editors – please note: A complete list of all award winners also is available on the National Small Business Week Web site at and click on Winners.

Small Business Week 2010 sponsors and cosponsors include: Sam’s Club, Visa, Ford, ADP, Raytheon, Cbeyond, UPS, Intuit, Google, eBay, AT&T, Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, D&B, Verio, Nomadic Display, ASBDC, NADCO, NAGGL, NASE, NSBA, WIPP and SCORE.

The U.S. Small Business Administration’s participation in this cosponsored activity does not constitute an express or implied endorsement of any cosponsor’s, donor’s, grantee’s, contractor’s or participant’s opinions, products, or services. All SBA programs and cosponsored programs are extended to the public on a nondiscriminatory basis. Reasonable arrangements for persons with disabilities will be made, if requested at least 2 weeks in advance, by contacting Cosponsorship Authorization #SBW2010

# # #