COVID-19 relief options and additional resources

SBA to Recognize Local Small Business Owner as the Texas Small Business Person of the Year

Release Date: 
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Release Number: 
Nina Ramon |

SAN ANTONIO – The SBA San Antonio District Director Anthony Ruiz proudly announced this week that Timothy Porter of Appddiction Studio, LLC is not only the top small business in the San Antonio District but also for the State of Texas. This year’s National Small Business Week is scheduled for May 3-9, 2020.

Tim Porter

“We are very proud of this selection,” said Ruiz. “This competition is very competitive. As this year’s top Texas entrepreneur, Mr. Porter had to compete against all the amazing nominations within our 55-county district, but also the five other district office’s nominations.

Mr. Porter will be recognized and awarded as at state winner during the National Small Business Week ceremony in Washington, D.C. on May 3-4 alongside individual winners represented from across the U.S. and territories. He will also be awarded during the district office award ceremony.

This year the district office will hold its annual awards ceremony on May 7, 2020 at the Pearl Stables in San Antonio. The event will be held in partnership with the UTSA Institute for Economic Development and South-West Texas Border (SWTXB) SBDC Network.

The ceremony will recognize local small businesses and champions for their exceptional hard work, innovation and investments in their communities.

The complete list of the 2020 San Antonio District Small Business Week winners:

Small Business Person of the Year (District and State)
Timothy Porter
Appddiction Studio, LLC
San Antonio, Texas

Small Business Development Center, Excellence and Innovation Center Award (District and Region)
Texas A&M International University SBDC
Laredo, Texas

Family Owned Small Business of the Year (District Award)
Leos Imports
San Angelo, Texas

Minority Owned Small Business of the Year (District Award)
GC Cleaners
Austin, Texas

Women Owned Small Business of the Year (District Award)
Texas Pie Company
Kyle, Texas

Small Business Champion of the Year (District Award)
Jeremy Walther
Kerrville, Texas

Small Business Financial Service Champion of the Year (District Award)
Alma Santos
Laredo, Texas

Small Business Media Advocate of the Year (District Award)
Iris Gonzalez
San Antonio, Texas

For questions contact the San Antonio District Office at (210) 403-5900.