COVID-19 relief options and additional resources

SBA San Antonio District Office Celebrate Entrepreneurs for National Small Business Week

Release Date: 
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Release Number: 
17-06 SADO
Nina Ramon |

2017 San Antonio Winners

SAN ANTONIO – The U.S. Small Business Administration, San Antonio District Office, in partnership with the University of Texas at San Antonio Institute for Economic Development and South-West Texas Border SBDC Network, recognized the 2017 District Small Business Week Winners. The award luncheon was held at the Omni San Antonio Hotel at the Colonnade on May 4, 2017. 


Every year since 1963, the President of the United States has declared National Small Business Week to formally recognize the important role and contributions of America’s small businesses.  National and local events recognize top entrepreneurs for their achievements to include those individuals and organizations who champion small business.  Special recognition is also given to SBA resource partners and community organizations for their outstanding efforts in business and entrepreneurial development.


“National Small Business Week serves as our nation’s salute to small business owners,” said Anthony Ruiz, SBA San Antonio District Director. “Thank you to all small business owners and this year’s winners, for it is you who define the entrepreneurial spirit and fuel the economic engine of our nation’s economy. I am not only proud, but honored to present these awards to our winners.”


(J. Bryan Vincent, San Antonio District Small Business Person of the Year)


The San Antonio District Office Small Business Winners are:


Small Business Person of the Year

John Vincent, Ph.D

Principal LED - San Angelo TX


Exporter of the Year

Jeffrey Vigil

My Business Matches - San Antonio TX


Family Owned Business of the Year

Marvin Bohumil Bohuslav

Bohuslav Feed Mill - Moulton TX


Veteran Owned Business of the Year

Jeffrey Jay Jaime

Taurean - Boerne TX


Woman Owned Business of the Year

Lucinda Leal

Labor on Demand - San Antonio TX


Minority Owned Business of the Year

Roque Vela

Jett Bowling Lanes, Inc. - Laredo Tx


Young Entrepreneur of the Year

Luis Vazquez

Luis Vazquez Photography - San Antonio TX


Small Business Champion of the Year

Geeta Halley

Round Rock Public Library


SCORE – Counselors of the Year

Bill Grosskopf

Austin Chapter 249


SCORE – Counselors of the Year

Hal Brown

San Antonio Chapter 164


SBDC State Star – Advisor of the Year

Patrice McElfresh

Senior Certified Business Advisor


The University of Texas at San Antonio SBDC

Cory Hallam, Ph.D.

Chief Commercialization Officer

The University of Texas at San Antonio


The SBA’s San Antonio district spans across 55 counties within the south central part of Texas and the communities within its district are very diverse.  It is estimated that well over 400,000 small businesses are located in the district.



Attachments Size
2017 San Antonio SBPY 19Kb
2017 San Antonio Winners 28Kb