2017 Hurricane Recovery: Get information about disaster assistance, or find out how you can help.

SBA Seeks Nominations for the 2014 National Small Business Week Awards

Release Date: 
Monday, November 25, 2013
Release Number: 
Advisory Number: 
Barbara Caldwell (816)426-4902

Kansas City – The U.S. Small Business Administration’s online portal is ready to accept nominations for its 2014 National Small Business Week Awards, including the annual Small Business Person of the Year award.

Now in its second year, the dedicated web portal http://nationalsmallbusinessweek.sba.gov/ has made it easier to submit and track submissions of nominees for National Small Business Week.

Since 1963, National Small Business Week has recognized the outstanding achievements of America’s small businesses for their contributions to their local communities, and to our nation’s economy.  For over 50 years, SBA will continue its tradition in honoring the nation’s 28 million small businesses.

SBA Awards given in celebration of National Small Business Week include the following awards:

  • National Small Business Person of the Year (chosen from among state award winners from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Guam)
  • Phoenix Awards (recognizing outstanding accomplishments during disaster recovery)
  • Small Business Prime Contractor of the Year
  • Small Business Subcontractor of the Year The Dwight D. Eisenhower Award for Excellence (recognizes large prime contractors who have used small businesses as suppliers and contractors)
  • SBA 8(a) Graduate of the Year (for recent graduates of the SBA’s 8(a) Business Development Program)
  • Exporter of the Year
  • Small Business Development Center (SBDC)Excellence and Innovation Award (nominations of SBA-funded SBDC Service Centers)
  • Women’s Business Center (WBCs) of Excellence Award (nominations of SBA-funded WBCs)
  • Veterans Business Outreach Center Excellence in Service Award (nominations of SBA-funded Veterans Business Outreach Centers)

In addition to the portal, nominations can also be sent directly to SBA Kansas City District Office, 1000 Walnut Street, Ste. 500, Kansas City, MO 64106, Attn: Barbara Caldwell.   All nominations must be submitted online, postmarked or hand delivered to the SBA Kansas City district office no later than the end of the day, Friday, January 17, 2014.

The 2014 Nomination Guidelines have been posted on the Kansas City SBA website at www.sba.gov/mo.

In addition to the above national awards, nominations will be accepted for the following district awards:

Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Business of the Year

  • Financial Services Champion of the Year
  • Home-Based Business Champion of the Year
  • Minority Small Business Champion of the Year
  • Veteran Small Business Champion of the Year
  • Women in Business Champion of the Year

For more information please contact Barbara Caldwell at (816) 426-4902 e-mail at barbara.caldwell@sba.gov.

Winners of the Small Business Person of the Year award and other award categories will be invited to Washington, D.C., in 2014 to compete for national titles and to attend National Small Business Week events.

# # #

Related State: