2017 Hurricane Recovery: Get information about disaster assistance, or find out how you can help.

SBA’s 2014 Michigan Small Business Award Winners Are Announced

Release Date: 
Monday, March 31, 2014
Release Number: 
Advisory Number: 
Media Contact: Catherine Gase, (313) 226-6075 ext. 223

DETROIT – The U.S. Small Business Administration has announced the winners of its 2014 Michigan Small Business awards.  The awards will be presented on May 6, 2014 at the 10th annual Michigan Celebrates Small Business awards event at the Breslin Center on the campus of Michigan State University. For more information on the state’s premier small business event, go to www.michigancelebrates.biz.

As part of National Small Business Week, the SBA has been recognizing the special impact made by outstanding American entrepreneurs and small business owners since 1963. “The SBA is honored to highlight the impact of the courageous men and women who work every day to grow small businesses, create 21st century jobs, drive innovation, and increase America’s global competitiveness,” said Gerald Moore, SBA Michigan District Director.  “Together with our partners, we honor and celebrate the individuals whose inspiration and efforts keep America strong.”

The SBA honors the exceptional small business owners and the champions who support them each year at Michigan Celebrates Small Business.  Michigan Celebrates Small Business was launched in 2005 by the Michigan Small Business Development Center, the U.S. Small Business Administration, the Michigan Economic Development Corporation, the Edward Lowe Foundation, the Small Business Association of Michigan, and Chris Holman – Small Business Advocate.  The mission is to highlight the contributions small businesses make to the state economy.

The following winners were selected because of their staying power, financial performance, innovativeness, response to adversity, contributions to their communities, and advocacy for the advancement of small business.

  • Small Business Person of the Year:  Michael Olen Nevins, Full Spectrum Solutions, Inc., Jackson
  • Michigan Young Entrepreneur of the Year: Tyler J. Decker, Pure Liberty Manufacturing, Ottawa Lake
  • Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Business of the Year:  Mike Veenstra, Veenstra’s Garage, Inc., Ada
  • Michigan Veteran Small Business Owner: Michael A. Bunting, ATIGROUP, Inc., Flushing
  • Small Business Counselor of the Year: David Broner, SCORE Detroit Chapter 

For more information on the award winners, please contact Catherine Gase at the SBA Michigan District Office at (313) 226-6075, ext.223 or email: catherine.gase@sba.gov. For more information on this event, please go to www.michigancelebrates.biz.  Media note: Most photos of winners are available from SBA upon request.


Related State: