COVID-19 relief options and additional resources

South Carolina National Small Business Week Winners

Release Date: 
Monday, May 1, 2017
Release Number: 
Advisory Date: 
Monday, May 1, 2017
Martin Short

South Carolina-SBA District Director & Acting Regional Administrator, Elliott Cooper, announces the winners of the 2017 National Small Business Week awards for South Carolina. 

"Small businesses contribute to our local and state economies by bringing growth, innovation, and most importantly- jobs!” “By providing opportunities, jobs, innovation, ideas, and new solutions, economic growth is constantly being cultivated,” said Cooper. “Larger firms often depend on small businesses for the completion of various business functions through outsourcing and are a vital element of their supply chain.” Cooper also stated, "Our SBA Lenders do an outstanding job of offering and providing access to capital to the small business community.” Lenders will be honored during National Small Business Week event.

Winners will be recognized and honored at our Salute to Small Business 2017 event hosted by the U.S. Small Business Administration-South Carolina District Office, South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, South Carolina Department of Commerce, South Carolina Business Development Center, and South Carolina Manufacturing Extension. 

The 2017 awardees are:

Small Business Person of the Year
Vickie Wyatt, Owner
J.I.T Manufacturing, Inc.
Cowpens, SC

Female Small Business Person of the Year
Jacqueline Mary Oliver & Mary Elza Walsh, Owners
Swamp Rabbit Café’ and Grocery
Greenville, SC 

Minority Small Business Person of the Year
Martha Landao Tran, CEO
Martha HRconsulting, LLC
Charleston, SC 

Veteran Small Business Person of the Year
Wayne Murphy, Owner
Haven Connections LLC-DBA Chick-fil-A
Orangeburg, SC

Young Entrepreneur of Year
Laura Cannon & Julie Simuang, Owners
The Orange Spot Coffeehouse
Charleston, SC

Small Business Development Center Excellence and Innovation Award
Myrtle Beach Area Small Business Development Center (SBDC)
Conway, SC 

Phoenix Award Recognition
Mayor Steve Benjamin
Columbia, SC

Lender Award Winners
Bank of Travelers Rest
Capital Bank
Carolina Alliance Bank
Certified Development Corporation
Community Works Carolina
First Citizens Bank and Trust
First Community Bank
Live Oak Bank
Local Development Corporation
Provident Business Financial Services
Security Federal Bank
ServisFirst Bank
South Carolina Federal Credit Union
TD Bank
Wells Fargo
Yadkin Bank