SBA Size Standards, Pt. 1 – A Quick Guide by Industry

Comment Count:

Comments welcome on this page. See Rules of Conduct.

SBA Size Standards, Pt. 1 – A Quick Guide by Industry

By nicoj
Published: February 10, 2012 Updated: September 28, 2016

SBA’s small business programs range from guaranteed loans to disaster assistance and procurement programs.  But how can you know if your business qualifies for SBA assistance?  After all, what makes a small business “small” and a large business “large?” 

The short answer lies in size standards.  Size standards are definitions SBA has established to ensure that a business is eligible to participate in an SBA program.  These standards are matched to the North American Classification System,* which assigns a numeric code to every different business sector or industry in the economy.  SBA assigns a size standard to each sector/code, specifying the maximum size a company can be to qualify for both SBA and government wide benefits.   So generally speaking, if your business is smaller than the size standard for your particular industry program, you qualify.

How Are Size Standards Measured?

Generally, size standards are measured using three factors:

  • How many employees your business has
  • Your average annual receipts
  • Your industry type

Knowing whether you’re “small” in the government’s eyes usually comes down to your business size measured against your industry; but there are a few rules of thumb regardless of industry. 

Here’s a general size guide for businesses depending on industry type.  Please note: all dollar figures below refer to average annual gross receipts.

1.)    Construction: For general building and heavy construction contractors, the size standard is $33.5 million.  For special trade construction companies, it can be far less ($14 million); and for dredging companies, it’s $20 million.  For land subdivision, the standard is $7 million.

2.)    Manufacturing:  Most manufacturers are considered small if they have fewer than 500 employees.  However, for some, the standard is much higher (1,500 employees). 

3.)    Mining: The standard is 500 employees for all mining industries (except mining services).

4.)    Retail Trade: For most companies, the maximum size is $7 million; for grocery stores, department stores and car dealers, the standard is higher. However, for some federal procurement “set asides,” the standard is 500 employees or less.

5.)    Services Industry: The most common standard in services is $7 million.  It’s much higher ($25 million) for companies in computer programming, data processing and systems design and some other sectors. ]

6.)    Wholesale Trade Industry: For SBA loan programs (like 7(a) and 504), the standard is 100 employees or less.  But for federal procurements where contracts are “set aside” for specific classes of businesses, the standard is 500 employees or less.

To check your exact size standard, consult SBA’s table of small business size standards (PDF).  You can find definitions for each of the NAICS codes at this NAICS page.

Additional Resources

*Directs to non-government website


About the Author:

Nico Janssen
My name is Nico and I'm serving as a moderator for the Community.


Good stuff. This video comes up number one under government contracts on youtube
HOW TO GET A FAST AND RELIABLE LOAN FROM A GENUINE LOAN COMPANY AT 3% INTEREST RATE. How i got my Desired Loan Amount from a Reliable Loan Company (BRANDON LOAN COMPANY) Hello everyone, My name is Seana Anderson, I am from the Ohio, United State, am here to testify of how i got my loan from BRANDON LOAN COMPANY after i applied two(2) times from various loan lenders who claimed that they will willhelp me get a business loan, i thought their lending was real and i applied but they never gave me loan until a friend introduced me to BRANDON LOAN COMPANY, who promised to help me with a loan of my desire and they did as promised without any form of delay, I had doubts but i never seize to believe. I never thought there are still reliable loan lenders until i contacted this loan company were i got a loan of $75,000.00 which i used to expand my business. Be informed that this company is 100% genuine and customer's satisfaction is our greatest priority. Note all replies should be sent to the Company Email: Company Phone Number: +1(315) 309-5179 SMS ALLOWED SMS your personal email address to this Phone Number and the Company will email you with further information on how to APPLY. Sincerely, Mr. Meyer Nitt. Loan Officer / C.E.O

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to leave comments. If you already have an account, Log In to leave your comment.

New users, Register for a new account and join the conversation today!