Jump to Main Content
USA flagAn Official Website of the United States Government
Disaster Press Releases

AR 12397 Disaster Assistance Available for Small Businesses

Sacramento, CA – Small, non-farm businesses in Arkansas (plus neighboring parishes in Louisiana and neighboring counties in Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee and Texas) are now eligible to apply for low-interest disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA). “These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by drought, excessive heat, and related insects and diseases that occurred in Arkansas beginning April 1, 2010,” announced Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center - West.

Primary Arkansas counties: all counties in the state;

Neighboring Louisiana parishes: Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, East Carroll, Morehouse, Union, Webster and West Carroll;

Neighboring Mississippi counties: Bolivar, Coahoma, De Soto, Issaquena, Tunica and Washington;

Neighboring Missouri counties: Barry, Butler, Dunklin, Howell, McDonald, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Ripley, Stone and Taney;

Neighboring Oklahoma counties: Adair, Delaware, Le Flore, McCurtain and Sequoyah;

Neighboring Tennessee counties: Dyer, Lauderdale, Shelby and Tipton;

Neighboring Texas counties: Bowie and Cass.

“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster,” Judd said.

Small, non-farm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives and most private, non-profit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

“Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage. These loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 3% for private, non-profit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, non-profits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship,” Judd said.

By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster. Secretary Tom Vilsack declared this disaster at the request of Governor Mike Beebe.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance. Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Service Agency (FSA) about the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration. However, in drought disasters nurseries are eligible for SBA disaster assistance.

Information and application forms are available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955, emailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov, or visiting SBA’s Web site at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance. Hearing impaired individuals may call (800) 877-8339. Applicants may also apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

The deadline to apply for these loans is July 19, 2011.

For more information, visit SBA’s Web site at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.
SBA Field Operations Center - West, P.O. Box 419004, Sacramento, CA 95841

# # #

Release Number: 
AR 12397-01
Release Date: 
Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 5:00am
Richard Jenkins (916) 735-1500
Related State: 
Field Operations Center: