The SBA has re-opened: Employees should report to work as normal effective 1/23/18.

Disaster Assistance Available for Small Businesses

Sacramento, CA – Small, non-farm businesses in 52 Iowa counties and neighboring counties in Illinois, Missouri, Nebraska and South Dakota are now eligible to apply for low-interest disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA). “These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by excessive rain, flooding, flash flooding, hail, high winds and tornadoes that occurred in the following primary Iowa counties from April 25, 2010 through July 18, 2010,” announced Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center - West.

Primary Iowa counties: Appanoose, Clarke, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Fremont, Guthrie, Humboldt, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Lucas, Marion, Monroe, Ringgold, Taylor, Van Buren, Wapello, Wayne and, Woodbury;

Neighboring Iowa counties: Adair, Adams, Audubon, Carroll, Cass, Cherokee, Crawford, Dallas, Greene, Hancock, Henry, Ida, Iowa, Jasper, Kossuth, Louisa, Madison, Mahaska, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, Page, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Polk, Poweshiek, Union, Warren, Washington, Webster and Wright;

Neighboring Illinois counties: Hancock, Henderson and Mercer;

Neighboring Missouri counties: Atchison, Clark, Harrison, Mercer, Nodaway, Putnam, Schuyler, Scotland and Worth;

Neighboring Nebraska counties: Cass, Dakota, Otoe and Thurston;

Neighboring South Dakota county: Union.

“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster,” Judd said.

Small, non-farm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives and most private, non-profit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

“Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage. These loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 3% for private, non-profit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, non-profits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship,” Judd said.

By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster. Secretary Tom Vilsack declared this disaster at the request of Governor Chet Culver.
Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance. Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency (FSA) about the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration.

Information and application forms are available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955, emailing, or visiting SBA’s Web site at Hearing impaired individuals may call (800) 877-8339. Applicants may also apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure Web site at

The deadline to apply for these loans is April 20, 2011.

SBA Field Operations Center - West, P.O. Box 419004, Sacramento, CA 95841

Release Number: 
IA 12298-01
Release Date: 
Thursday, September 2, 2010 - 4:00am
Richard Jenkins (916) 735-1500
Related State: 
South Dakota
Field Operations Center: