SBA Administrator Announces National Small Business Week Awardees

Awardees invited to Washington, D.C., recognition ceremony, May 1-2
Release Date: 
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Release Number: 
Terry Sutherland, 202-205-6919

WASHINGTONAdministrator Maria Contreras-Sweet, the head of the U.S. Small Business Administration, today announced the 2016 National Small Business Week awardees for 17 different categories ranging from exporting, outreach, contracting, lending, disaster recovery to manufacturing and research and development. Last week Contreras-Sweet announced the 54 Small Business Person of the Year state and territorial winners. These recipients are now competing for the 2016 National Small Business Person of the Year. All awardees have been invited to Washington, D.C. to participate in events and ceremonies on May 1-2.  

“National Small Business Week is an important moment when we honor our nation’s 28 million small businesses and renew our commitment to fostering the entrepreneurial spirit that is central to small business success. This year's recipients are educators and dynamic leaders in their respective small business fields. It is an honor to celebrate their hard work and success," said Contreras-Sweet.

Awards announced today:

  • Exporter of the Year
  • Jody C. Raskind Mission Lender of the Year
  • Small Business Investment Company of the Year
  • SCORE Chapter of the Year
  • Awards to SBA Resource Partners:
    • Small Business Development Center (SBDC) Excellence and Innovation Award
    • Women’s Business Center of Excellence Award
    • Veterans Business Outreach Center of the Year
  • Phoenix Awards for Disaster Recovery:
    • Small Business Disaster Recovery
    • Outstanding Contributions to Disaster Recovery, Public Official
    • Outstanding Contributions to Disaster Recovery, Volunteer
  • Federal Procurement Awards:
    • Small Business Prime Contractor of the Year
    • Small Business Subcontractor of the Year
    • Dwight D. Eisenhower Awards for Excellence (for large prime contractors who use small businesses as suppliers and contractors)
    • 8(a) Graduate of the Year

Each year since 1963, the president has issued a proclamation calling for the celebration of National Small Business Week.  National Small Business Week is set as the first week in May, and this year the dates are May 1-7 with national events planned in Washington, D.C., New York City, Atlanta, Denver, Phoenix and San Jose and Oakland, California.



National Exporter of the Year

Endoscopy Replacement Parts, Inc., Newberry, Florida
David Peter Bello Sr., CEO
John Hartnett, Vice President, Global Business Development
David A. Bello Jr., General Manager, VP

Small Business Development Center (SBDC)

Charleston Area Small Business Development Center, North Charleston, South Carolina
Tom Lauria, Director

Women’s Business Center of Excellence

Women & Technology, Bismarck, North Dakota
  Dba Center for Technology & Business
Debra Mary Eslinger, Program Director
Deidre A. Hillman, Program Coordinator
Joanna C. Krizan, Financial Coordinator
Laurie C. Morse-Dell, Marketing Coordinator


Canton Ohio Chapter
Ed Messerly, Chapter Chair
Pat Ripple, Area District Director

Veterans Business Outreach Center Excellence in Service

New Mexico Veterans Business Outreach Center, Albuquerque, New Mexico
Joe Long, Director

8(a) Graduate of the Year

Action Facilities Management, Inc., Morgantown, West Virginia
Diana Lewis Jackson, President & CEO

Jody C. Raskind Mission Lender of the Year

FINANTA, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Luis E. Mora, President

Small Business Investment Company (SBIC)

Argentum Capital Partners, New York, New York
Walter H. Barandiaran, Managing Partner
Daniel Raynor, Managing Partner
Steve Berman, Partner and Chief Financial Officer

GMB Mezzanine Capital, Minneapolis, Minnesota
Carleton J. Olmanson, Managing Principal
Michael D. McHugh, Managing Partner
Daniel J. Hemiadan, CFA, Managing Partner

Phoenix Awards

Outstanding Small Business Disaster Recovery:

Majestic Vending and Services, Inc., Staten Island, New York
Maryann Piazza, Chief Executive Officer
Stephen Piazza, President

Outstanding Contributions To Disaster Recovery by a Public Official:

City of Louisville, Louisville, Mississippi
William A. Hill, Mayor

Phoenix Award for Outstanding Contributions To Disaster Recovery by a Volunteer:

Serve Moore Community Renewal Center, Moore, Oklahoma
Chris Fox, Executive Director

National Prime Contractor of the Year

McLaughlin Research Corporation, New London, Connecticut
James Bouthillier, President

Subcontractor of the Year

Sound Roof Systems Ltd., Williston Park, New York
F. Xavier Fleming, President

Dwight D. Eisenhower Awards


Comprehensive Health Services, Inc., Cape Canaveral, Florida
Gary Palmer, President


BAE Systems, Electronic Systems, Nashua, New Hampshire
Supplier Diversity Team:
Lici Deng
Debra Rotkiewicz
Karen Raymond
Monica St. Julien

Research & Development:

Brookhaven Science Associates, LLC/Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, New York
Jill Clough-Johnston, Small Business Liaison Officer


For more information about National Small Business Week visit:


ABOUT THE U.S. Small Business Administration

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) was created in 1953 and since January 13, 2012, has served as a Cabinet-level agency of the federal government to aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns, to preserve free competitive enterprise and to maintain and strengthen the overall economy of our nation. The SBA helps Americans start, build and grow businesses. Through an extensive network of field offices and partnerships with public and private organizations, the SBA delivers its services to people throughout the United States, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Guam.