COVID-19 relief options and additional resources

SBA Administrator Announces This Year’s National Small Business Week Awardees

Awardees will be invited to Washington, D.C. recognition ceremony
Release Date: 
Friday, April 17, 2015
Release Number: 
Terry Sutherland 202-205-6919

WASHINGTON – Administrator Maria Contreras-Sweet, the head of the U.S. Small Business Administration, today announced the 2015 National Small Business Week awardees. 


“National Small Business Week is a chance to honor our nation’s 28 million small businesses and renew our commitment to fostering the entrepreneurial spirit that is central to the American experience. This year's winners are dynamic trailblazers in their respective small business fields, contributing to their local economies and providing good jobs in their communities. It is an honor to celebrate their hard work and success," said Contreras-Sweet.


Since 1963, the President has issued a proclamation designating one week each year as National Small Business Week.  This year, the celebration will take place from May 4-8 all across the country, with the theme “Dream Big, Start Small.”  Administrator Contreras-Sweet will travel during the week to events in Miami, Los Angeles, San Antonio, New York and Washington, D.C.                                                                                                                                                     

The winners listed below, along with the six finalists for National Small Business Person of the Year, will be invited to a recognition ceremony at the White House on May 8th.


Finalists for National Small Business Person of the Year


Carol M. Craig                                                                                                          

Craig Technologies

Cape Canaveral, Fla.


Necole Parker                                                           


Washington, D.C.


Alan R. Doan & Sarah B. Galbraith

Missouri Star Quilt Company

Hamilton, Mo.


Michael Miqueli

San Antonio Broker Services, Inc.

North Bergen, N.J.


Richard Jackson                                                                                            

American Document Services, LLC

Las Cruces, N.M.


Charles Feit                                                                           

OnForce Solar, Inc.

Bronx, N.Y.



Jody C. Raskind Microlender of the Year Award


Justine PETERSEN Housing & Reinvestment Corp.

Robert Boyle, Founder & CEO

St. Louis, Mo.


Community Advantage Lender of the Year


Empire State CDC

(Subsidiary of NYBDC)

Patrick J. MacKrell

Albany, N.Y.


Small Business Development Center


Louisiana Small Business Development Center at Southeastern Louisiana University


William Joubert, Center Director

Sandy A. Summers, Assistant Director/Training Coordinator

Wayne R. Ricks, Senior Business Consultant

Brandy M. Boudreax, Business Consultant


Hammond, La.


Women’s Business Center


Instituto Empresarial para la Mujer (Women’s Business Institute)

Limaris Aponte, WBC Director

San Juan, Puerto Rico


Exporter of the Year


Sawyer Manufacturing Company

Dave Hembree, Vice President

Tulsa, Okla.










Small Business Investment Company (SBIC)


Monrow Capital Partners Fund LP

Theodore L. Koenig, Managing Member

Chicago, Ill.


NewSpring Capital

Michael DiPiano, Managing Partner

Radnor, Pa.


Prime Contractor of the Year


Key Logic Systems, Inc.

Jon K. Hammock, President and CEO

Morgantown, W.Va.


Sub-Contractor of the Year


RTH Mechanical Contractors, Inc.

Richard T Hansell, President

Brentwood, N.H.


Eisenhower Awards



Amec Environment & Infrastructure, Inc.

Thomas J. Logan, President

Palm Beach, Fla.


Research & Development:

UT – Battelle, LLC

Cassandra M. Stuart, Manager, Small Business Programs Office

Oak Ridge, Tenn.



Northrup Grumman Information Systems

Kathy L. Livengood, Sector Manager, Global Supplier Diversity

McLean, Va.



The Boeing Company

Sherman Dupre, Director, Boeing SDB & SA

St. Louis, Mo.


8(a) Graduate:


First State Manufacturing

Eliseo Valenzuela, Owner/CEO

Sher Valenzuela, Vice President/Co-Owner

Milford, Del.




Veterans Business Outreach Center


Veterans Business Resource Center


Darcella Craven, Executive Director

Damon Chaffin, Business Consultant

Londa Young, Research Analyst

Angela Thomas, Development Coordinator

Darcella K. Craven, Executive Director

Debbie Fanning, Administrator

Alan Rohlfing, Outreach Director

Tracy Bently, Business Counselor – KC market

Roger Horn, Volunteer Business Mentor,


St. Louis, Mo.


SCORE Chapter


Chester and Delaware County SCORE


George Edwards, Co-Chair

Jim Kane, Co-Chair

Hugh MacMaster, District Director


West Chester, Pa.


2015 Phoenix Award for Outstanding Contributions to Disaster Recovery by a Volunteer 


Christian Spears

Staten Island, N.Y.


2015 Phoenix Award for Outstanding Small Business Disaster Recovery 


Moriches Inlet Marine, Inc.

Conrad Kreuter, President

East Moriches, N.Y.


2015 Phoenix Award for Outstanding Contributions to Disaster Recovery by a Public Official


Town of Darrington, Wash.

Dan Rankin, Mayor

Darrington, Wash.