Jump to Main Content
USA flagAn Official Website of the United States Government

SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans Available to Missouri Small Businesses

Release Date: 
Monday, September 30, 2013
Release Number: 
MO 13786-01
Advisory Date: 
Monday, September 30, 2013
Richard Jenkins, (916) 735-1500

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – Small, nonfarm businesses in 46 primary and neighboring Missouri counties and neighboring counties in Arkansas, Kansas, Kentucky and Tennessee are now eligible to apply for low-interest federal disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA).  “These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by the excessive rainfall and flooding that occurred from July 15 - August 19, 2013, in the following primary counties,” announced Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West.


Primary Missouri counties:  Butler, Camden, Cole, Dunklin, Gasconade, Laclede, Maries, Miller, New Madrid, Osage, Pemiscot, Pulaski, Stoddard, Texas, Vernon and Webster;

Neighboring Missouri counties:  Barton, Bates, Benton, Bollinger, Boone, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Crawford, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Franklin, Greene, Hickory, Howell, Mississippi, Moniteau, Montgomery, Morgan, Phelps, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, St. Clair, Warren, Wayne and Wright;

Neighboring Arkansas counties:  Clay, Craighead, Greene and Mississippi;

Neighboring Kansas counties:  Bourbon, Crawford and Linn;

Neighboring Kentucky county:  Fulton;

Neighboring Tennessee counties:  Dyer and Lake.


“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster,” Judd said.


Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.


“Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage.  These loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 2.875% for private, nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship,” Judd said.


By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster.  Secretary Tom Vilsack declared this disaster at the request of Gov. Jay Nixon.


Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance.  Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency (FSA) about the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration. 


Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.  


Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955 or e-mailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov.  Individuals who are deaf or hard‑of‑hearing may call (800) 877-8339.  For more information about SBA’s disaster assistance programs, visit http://www.sba.gov/disaster


The deadline to apply for these loans is May 27, 2014.






SBA Field Operations Center - West, P.O. Box 419004, Sacramento, CA 95841