2017 Hurricane Recovery: Get information about disaster assistance, or find out how you can help.

SBA Honors Nation’s Top Small Businesses

Release Date: 
Monday, March 24, 2014
Release Number: 
14-06 So. Fla.
Advisory Date: 
Monday, March 24, 2014
Advisory Number: 
Terry Sutherland 202-205-6919

Winners to be formally recognized in Washington, D.C., May 15-16

WASHINGTON – From architecture to bakeries, to consulting firms and woodworking - these are just a few of the businesses that will be recognized by the U.S. Small Business Administration this year in Washington, D.C., May 15-16. 


Small Business Person of the Year winners from the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Guam will gather in Washington during National Small Business Week where one of them will be selected as the 2014 National Small Business Person of the Year. While in Washington the winners will have opportunities to meet with top SBA officials and national business leaders.


The winners were recently notified by SBA Assistant Administrator Fred Baldassaro who stated, “Your hard work, innovative ideas, and dedication to your community have helped you succeed. The SBA is pleased to recognize your achievements and your role in driving our nation’s economic growth.”


“Congratulations to State of Florida Small Business Person of the Year Amir A. Varshovi, President, Green Technologies LLC of Gainesville, Fla. and runner-up Ricky Brantley, President of Viking Defense located in Miami,” said SBA South Florida District Director Francisco “Pancho” Marrero.  “The selection of Florida’s Small Business Person of the Year was challenging given the number of nominations received and the excellence of work that is happening every day in our Florida communities.” 


Each year since 1963, the president has issued a proclamation calling for the celebration of National Small Business Week. SBA recognizes outstanding small business owners for their personal successes and contributions to our nation.






Editor’s note: Attached is the list of state/territory winners.


Related State: