SBA’s 2014 Michigan Small Business Award Winners Are Announced!

Release Date: 
Tuesday, May 6, 2014
Release Number: 
Advisory Number: 
Catherine Gase, (313) 226-6075 ext. 223

DETROIT – The U.S. Small Business Administration has announced the winners of its 2014 Michigan Small Business awards.  The awards will be presented tonight, May 6, 2014 at the 10th annual Michigan Celebrates Small Business awards event at The Breslin Center on the campus of Michigan State University in East Lansing. 

As part of National Small Business Week, the SBA has been recognizing the special impact made by outstanding American entrepreneurs and small business owners since 1963. “The SBA is honored to highlight the impact of the courageous men and women who work every day to grow small businesses, create 21st century jobs, drive innovation, and increase America’s global competitiveness,” said Gerald Moore, SBA Michigan District Director.  “Together with our partners, we honor and celebrate the individuals whose inspiration and efforts keep America strong.” 

The SBA honors the exceptional small business owners and the champions who support them each year at Michigan Celebrates Small Business.  The event was founded by the SBA, the Edward Lowe Foundation, the Michigan Small Business & Technology Development Center Network, the Michigan Economic Development Corporation, the Small Business Association of Michigan, and the Michigan Business Network in a collaborative effort to showcase the economic power of Michigan’s small business. 

The following winners were selected because of their staying power, financial performance, innovativeness, response to adversity, contributions to their communities, and advocacy for the advancement of small business.

•           Small Business Person of the Year:  Michael Nevins, CEO, Full Spectrum Solutions, Inc., Jackson

•           Young Entrepreneur of the Year: Tyler Decker, Pure Liberty Manufacturing, Ottawa Lake

•           Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Business of the Year:  Michael Veenstra, President, Veenstra’s Garage Inc.

•           Veteran Small Business Owner: Michael Bunting, CEO, ATIGROUP Inc., Flushing

•           SCORE Counselor of the Year: David Broner, SCORE Detroit Chapter 


For more information on the award winners, please contact Catherine Gase at the SBA Michigan District Office at (313) 226-6075, ext.223 or email: For more information on this event, please go to  Media note: Most photos of winners are available from SBA upon request.


Related State: