Jump to Main Content
USA flagAn Official Website of the United States Government

Two WY Firms Receive SBA National Small Business Week Awards

Release Date: 
Thursday, May 2, 2013
Release Number: 
Advisory Date: 
Wednesday, May 15, 2013
Advisory Number: 
Sharon Nichols 307-261-6508

Two Wyoming firms were honored by the U.S. Small Business Administration at the Campbell County Chamber of Commerce Governor’s Luncheon in Gillette on April 30th.  L&H Industrial, Inc. received the SBA’s 2013 SBA Region VIII Small Business Exporter of the Year and the 2013 Wyoming Small Business Exporter of the Year awards, and Sign Boss, LLC received the SBA Wyoming District Office’s 2013 Small Business “Spirit of Wyoming” award.

During the ceremony, Wyoming Governor Matt Mead and David Leavitt, SBA Region VIII Communications Director, presented these prestigious awards to Mike Wandler (owner and President) and Jim Clikeman (owner and Chief Financial Officer) of L&H Industrial, Inc.; and Dana Miller Eiland and Rick Eiland, owners of Sign Boss, LLC.

The SBA Small Business Exporter of the Year award is given to businesses at the district, regional, and national levels that demonstrate excellence in various aspects of exporting, including increased sales, profits and/or employment due to exporting; creative overseas marketing strategies; effective solutions to export-related problems; and providing encouragement and assistance to other small businesses that are pursuing exporting.   

The Small Business “Spirit of Wyoming” award is given by the SBA Wyoming District office to a small business that demonstrates potential for success in several areas, including steady growth of the company, innovation and imagination in products/services, and demonstration of the “Spirit of Wyoming” through volunteerism and community involvement.

The National Small Business Week awards are one of the highlights of the SBA’s National Small Business Week celebration that will be held nationwide from June 17th through June 23rd, 2013.  The SBA Wyoming District Office will honor three additional National Small Business Week award winners at events around the state leading up to National Small Business Week, including the 2013 Wyoming Small Business Person of the Year - Aaron Rodolph, Rodolph Brothers, Inc.; the 2013 Wyoming Small Business Advocate of the Year - Sandra M. Newsome; and the 2013 Wyoming Small Business Advocate “Downtown Development” Award - Dan Brecht. ­


Related State: