Jump to Main Content

U.S. Small Business Administration Alaska District Office Names Lender of the Year for 2012

Release Date: 
Friday, December 21, 2012
Release Number: 
Advisory Date: 
Friday, December 21, 2012
Advisory Number: 
Nelida Irvine

Anchorage – The U.S. Small Business Administration Alaska District Office will present the 2012 lender awards at the Alaska Lenders’ Symposium held in Anchorage on Tuesday, February 5th  , 2013.  For the sixth year in a row Wells Fargo Bank N.A. was selected as the Alaska SBA Lender of the Year for 2012.  This award recognizes the SBA lender that achieves the overall highest number of SBA loan approvals to businesses located in Alaska during the federal fiscal year.  Any type of financial institution, located anywhere in the United States, may be considered for this award.

“Wells Fargo is honored to serve our Alaska small business customers who are the backbone of our economy,” said Joe Everhart, Wells Fargo Alaska regional president. “We applaud the SBA for their efforts to provide innovative financing options to help our Alaskan small businesses create jobs and drive economic growth.  We’re successful when our customers are successful.”

With 44 loan approvals during the fiscal year ending September 30, 2012, totaling $16,869,000, Wells Fargo Bank has made a significant impact on Alaska’s small businesses.

“Our focus at SBA is to help small businesses start, grow and succeed.  Access to capital is the life blood of small businesses especially in these difficult economic times,” said SBA Regional Administrator Calvin Goings.

“Wells Fargo Bank and our other SBA lending partners play vital roles in financing new Alaskan small businesses, and facilitating the expansion of existing businesses,” said Karen Forsland, Alaska SBA District Director.  “We are proud to recognize Wells Fargo Bank for their success in using SBA’s loan guaranty programs to provide our small business community with access to capital.”

For more information, please contact Scott Swingle in the U.S. Small Business Administration Alaska District Office, 907-474-4878.

Related State: