COVID-19 relief options and additional resources

SBA District Office joins AFEB board

Release Date: 
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Release Number: 
17-01 SADO
Nina Ramon | 210-403-5920

SAN ANTONIO – The U.S. Small Business Administration, San Antonio District Director was recently appointed to represent the agency on the Alamo Federal Executive Board (AFEB). Anthony Ruiz joined the SBA San Antonio team two years; last serving as the assistance district director for the 8(a) Business Development Program in Washington, D.C. Metro Area District Office.

The AFEB is a collaborative of 63 federal agencies in the greater San Antonio area with a mission to provide a clear and effective communications medium between Federal agencies and all levels of government. It serve as prime means for disseminating information within the Federal Government, for inter-agency training and for promoting discussion of Federal policies and activities of importance to all Federal Executive in the field within 28 metropolitan areas across the country.

“Since its founding in 1953, the SBA has delivered billions of loans, loan guarantees, contracts and counseling sessions to assist and protect the interests of small business concerns, preserve free competitive enterprise and maintain and strengthen the overall economy of our nation,” said Anthony Ruiz, SBA District Director. “The San Antonio District Office is committed to fostering economic growth by providing the South-Central Texas small business community the support and assistance needed to start, grow and succeed. We know small businesses represent the foundation for our country’s economic growth.”

The SBA San Antonio District Office located in the heart of San Antonio in the Hipolito F. Garcia Federal Building, across the street from the Alamo, with a service area that spans across 55 counties within Texas.

The counties served are: Atascosa, Bandera, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Comal, Concho, Crockett, De Witt, Dimmit, Edwards, Fayette, Frio, Gillespie, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hays, Irion, Jackson, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Kinney, La Salle, Lampasas, Lavaca, Lee, Live Oak, Llano, Mason, Maverick, McCulloch, McMullen, Medina, Menard, Real, Refugio, San Saba, Schleicher, Sutton, Tom Green, Travis, Uvalde, Val Verde, Victoria, Webb, Williamson, Wilson, and Zavala.