SBA’s 2017 Michigan Small Business Awards Are Announced!

Release Date: 
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Release Number: 
Catherine Gase

DETROIT – The U.S. Small Business Administration has announced the winners of its 2017 Michigan Small Business awards.  The awards will be presented on May 4, 2017 at the 13th annual Michigan Celebrates Small Business awards event at The Lansing Center in Lansing. 

As part of National Small Business Week, the SBA has been recognizing the special impact made by outstanding American entrepreneurs and small business owners since 1963. “Together with our partners, we honor and celebrate the small business owners who are the backbone of our country’s economy,” said Constance Logan, SBA Michigan District Director.

Michigan Celebrates Small Business was founded by the SBA, the Edward Lowe Foundation, the Michigan Small Business Development Center, the Michigan Economic Development Corporation, the Small Business Association of Michigan, and the Michigan Business Network in a collaborative effort to showcase the economic power of Michigan’s small business. 

The following winners were selected because of their staying power, financial performance, innovativeness, response to adversity, contributions to their communities, and advocacy for the advancement of small business.

  • Michigan Small Business Person of the Year:  Jon Lanning, President, Inontime, LLC
  • Michigan Women Owned Small Business of the Year:  Monica Starks, President, C. Denise Griffith, CEO, GS Group, LLC
  • Michigan Small Business Exporter of the Year:  Tom Murray, President and CEO, Hosco Fittings, LLC
  • Michigan Veteran Owned Small Business of the Year: Bruce L. Whetter, President, Americhem Sales Corporation
  • Michigan 8(a) Graduate of the Year:  Morgan Subbarayan, President, CTI and Associates, Inc.
  • Region V Subcontractor of the Year: Dave Goudreau, Northern Wings Repair, Inc.
  • Michigan SCORE Chapter of the Year: Tip of the Mitt SCORE Petoskey Chapter, Margo Johnson, Chapter Chair Person
  • Women’s Business Center of Excellence Award, Michigan and Region V - Great Lakes Women’s Business Council, Debra Loeser, Program Manager of WBC
  • Michigan Small Business Development Center Excellence and Innovation Award - SBDC I-69 Trade Corridor Region, Marsha Lyttle, Regional Director

For more information on the award winners, please contact Catherine Gase at the SBA Michigan District Office at (313) 324-3609 or email For more information on this event, please go to  Media note: photos of winners are available from SBA upon request.