Coronavirus (COVID-19): Relief options and Additional Resources

SBA Emerging Leaders Initiative 2018 Set for North Dakota

Seven-month intensive, executive entrepreneurship education series now taking applications
Release Date: 
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Release Number: 
Sheri Weston, 701.239.5044

Fargo, ND – The U.S. Small Business Administration’s North Dakota District Office is accepting applications to a free mini-MBA training program for small to medium-sized business owners and CEOs. The deadline to apply is February 28, 2018.

The Emerging Leaders training focuses on small, poised-for-growth companies with potential for job creation.  The seven-month intensive, executive entrepreneurship education series provides the opportunity for small business owners to create a 3 - 5 year Strategic Growth Plan.

The SBA Emerging Leaders Initiative has trained more than 40 small business owners from across North Dakota since its 2015 launch in Fargo, N.D.

To be eligible to participate, a small business must:

  • have been in business for at least three years,
  • generate revenues of at least $400,000,
  • have at least one employee besides the owner, and
  • be committed to attend 13 bi-weekly workshops and complete required course-work from April to October, 2018.

Interested small business owners can learn more on eligibility and how to apply at the SBA’s website:, or by contacting Sherri Komrosky at 701-239-5658 or Applications can be submitted at

# # #

About the Small Business Administration

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) was created in 1953 and since January 13, 2012 has served as a Cabinet-level agency of the federal government to aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns, to preserve free competitive enterprise and to maintain and strengthen the overall economy of our nation.  The SBA helps Americans start, build and grow businesses.  Through an extensive network of field offices and partnerships with public and private organizations, the SBA delivers its services to people throughout the United States, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Guam.