COVID-19 relief options and additional resources

SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans Available to Businesses in West Texas

There are currently 3 open SBA disaster declarations for economic injury caused by drought in west Texas and the panhandle area. As a result of these declarations, SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans are currently available to businesses in the affected areas. SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster. Small nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance. Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency about the U.S. Department of Agriculture assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration. However, nurseries are eligible for SBA disaster assistance in drought disasters.

TX 15459-01 Economic Injury caused by drought that began 11/14/2017 (and continuing)

Deadline to apply: 11/8/2018

Link to full press release:

Includes 79 Texas Counties:Primary Texas counties:  Archer, Armstrong, Bailey, Baylor, Bowie, Briscoe, Carson, Cass, Castro, Childress, Cochran, Collingsworth, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Floyd, Foard, Garza, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Harrison, Hartley, Haskell, Hemphill, Hockley, Hutchinson, Kent, King, Knox, Lamar, Lamb, Lipscomb, Lubbock, Lynn, Marion Moore, Morris, Motley, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Red River, Roberts, Sherman, Stonewall, Swisher, Terry, Titus, Wheeler, Wichita, Wilbarger and Yoakum;

Neighboring Texas counties:  Borden, Camp, Clay, Dawson, Delta, Fannin, Fisher, Franklin, Gaines, Gregg, Jack, Jones, Panola, Rusk, Scurry, Shackelford, Throckmorton, Upshur and Young;

NM 15480-01 Economic Injury caused by drought that began 1/30/2018 (and continuing)

Deadline to apply: 11/30/2018

Link to full press release:

Declared for the State of NM, includes 6 neighboring Texas counties:

Neighboring Texas counties:  Andrews, Cochran, Gaines, Loving, Winkler and Yoakum;

TX 15491-01 Economic Injury caused by drought that began 2/6/18 (and continuing)

Deadline to apply: 12/12/2018

Link to full press release:

Includes 33 Texas Counties:

Primary Texas counties:  Borden, Dawson, Fisher, Gaines, Hill, Howard, Jones, Martin, Mitchell, Nolan and Scurry;
Neighboring Texas counties:  Andrews, Bosque, Callahan, Coke, Ellis, Garza, Glasscock, Haskell, Johnson, Kent, Limestone, Lynn, McLennan, Midland, Navarro, Runnels, Shackelford, Sterling, Stonewall, Taylor, Terry and Yoakum;