2017 Hurricane Recovery: Get information about disaster assistance, or find out how you can help.

Virginia Deadline to Apply for SBA Working Capital Disaster Loans Due to Drought is July 5

ATLANTA - The U.S. Small Business Administration is reminding small businesses that July 5 is the filing deadline for federal economic injury disaster loans available in Virginia because of drought and excessive heat that began on April 1, 2010.

The SBA’s disaster declaration includes the following counties: Accomack, Albemarle, Amelia, Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford, Brunswick Buckingham, Campbell, Caroline, Carroll, Charlotte, Clarke, Culpeper, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Franklin, Frederick, Goochland, Greene, Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Isle of Wright, James City, King and Queen, King George, King William, Lancaster, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, Montgomery, Nelson, Northampton, Northumberland, Nottoway, Orange, Page, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Pulaski, Rappahannock, Richmond, Rockbridge, Shenandoah, Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Surry, Warren, Westmoreland and York and the Independent City of Suffolk; and the contiguous counties of Alleghany, Augusta, Bath, Bland, Botetourt, Charles City, Chesterfield, Craig, Floyd, Giles, Gloucester, Grayson, Henrico, Henry, Loudoun, Madison, Mathews, New Kent, Prince George, Prince William, Roanoke, Rockingham, Sussex and Wythe; and the Independent Cities of Bedford, Buena Vista, Charlottesville, Chesapeake, Danville, Emporia, Franklin, Fredericksburg, Galax, Hampton, Lexington, Lynchburg, Newport News, Petersburg, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Radford, Williamsburg and Winchester.

“When the Secretary of Agriculture issues a disaster declaration to help farmers recover from damages and losses to crops, the Small Business Administration issues a declaration to eligible entities affected by the same disaster,” said Frank Skaggs, director of SBA’s Field Operations Center East.

Under this declaration, the SBA’s Economic Injury Disaster Loan program is available to eligible farm-related and nonfarm-related entities that suffered financial losses as a direct result of this disaster.  Except for aquaculture enterprises, agricultural producers, farmers and ranchers are not eligible to apply to SBA, but nurseries are eligible to apply for economic injury disaster loans for losses caused by drought conditions.

The loan amount can be up to $2 million with a 4 percent interest rate for eligible small businesses and 3 percent for non-profit organizations and terms up to 30 years.  The SBA determines eligibility based on the size of the applicant, type of activity and its financial resources.  Loan amounts and terms are set by the SBA and are based on each applicant’s financial condition.  These working capital loans may be used to pay fixed debts, payroll, accounts payable, and other bills that could have been paid had the disaster not occurred.  The loans are not intended to replace lost sales or profits.

Disaster loan information and application forms may be obtained by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the hearing-impaired) Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., and Saturday from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., ET or by sending an e-mail to disastercustomerservice@sba.gov.  Loan applications can be downloaded from the SBA’s Web site at www.sba.gov. Completed applications should be mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155. 

Those affected by the disaster may apply for loans from SBA’s secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela/

Completed loan applications must be returned to SBA no later than July 5, 2011.

# # #

For more information about the SBA’s Disaster Loan Program, visit our Web site at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance

Release Number: 
Release Date: 
Monday, June 6, 2011 - 4:00am
Michael Lampton
Related State: 
Field Operations Center: