AR 14053-01 SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans Available to Arkansas Small Businesses

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – Small, nonfarm businesses in 33 Arkansas counties and neighboring counties in Mississippi and Missouri are now eligible to apply for low-interest federal disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA).  “These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by the flash flooding, excessive rain, flooding, high winds, hail, dangerous lightning, and deadly tornadoes that occurred from April 27 – May 15, 2014, in the following primary counties,” announced Tanya N. Garfield, Director of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West.

Primary Arkansas counties:  Clay, Faulkner, Fulton, Independence, Jackson, Lawrence, Phillips, Pulaski, Randolph, Sharp, White and Woodruff;

Neighboring Arkansas counties:  Arkansas, Baxter, Cleburne, Conway, Craighead, Cross, Desha, Grant, Greene, Izard, Jefferson, Lee, Lonoke, Monroe, Perry, Poinsett, Prairie, Saint Francis, Saline, Stone and Van Buren;

Neighboring Mississippi counties:  Bolivar, Coahoma and Tunica;

Neighboring Missouri counties:  Butler, Dunklin, Howell, Oregon, Ozark and Ripley.

“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster,” Garfield said.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

“Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage.  These loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 2.625% for private, nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship,” Garfield said.

By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster.  Secretary Tom Vilsack declared this disaster at the request of Gov. Mike Beebe.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance.  Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency (FSA) about the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure Web site at

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955 or e-mailing  Individuals who are deaf or hard‑of‑hearing may call (800) 877-8339.  For more information about SBA’s disaster assistance programs, visit

The deadline to apply for these loans is March 9, 2015.

SBA Field Operations Center - West, P.O. Box 419004, Sacramento, CA 95841


Release Number: 
AR 14053-01
Release Date: 
Friday, July 11, 2014 - 12:00am
Richard Jenkins (916) 735-1500
Related State: 
Field Operations Center: