COVID-19 relief options and additional resources

TX 16401, 16407-01 SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans Available to Texas Small Businesses

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – Small nonfarm businesses in the following counties in Texas, New Mexico and  Oklahoma are now eligible to apply for low‑interest federal disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration. These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by drought that occurred in the following primary counties in Texas, announced Director Tanya N. Garfield of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West.




Texas Counties



Incident Type

Incident Date



Anderson, Atascosa, Bandera, Bee, Bell, Blanco, Brazos, Brown, Burleson, Burnet, Caldwell, Callahan, Cherokee, Coke, Coleman, Colorado, Comal, Concho, Crockett, Dallam, Dewitt, Dimmit, Eastland, Edwards, Freestone, Frio, Gillespie, Glasscock, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Haskell, Hays, Henderson, Houston, Irion, Jackson, Jim Hogg, Jones, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kinney, La Salle, Lavaca, Leon, Live Oak, Llano,  Mason, Maverick, McCulloch, Medina, Menard, Navarro, Nolan, Palo Pinto, Real, Runnels, San Saba, Schleicher, Shackelford, Smith, Starr, Stephens, Sterling, Taylor, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Travis, Uvalde, Val Verde, Van Zandt, Victoria, Webb, Wharton, Wichita, Wilbarger, Williamson, Wilson, Wood, Young, Zapata and Zavala

Texas:  Angelina, Archer, Austin, Bastrop, Baylor, Bexar, Brazoria, Brooks, Calhoun, Camp, Clay, Comanche, Coryell, Crane, Duval, Ellis, Erath, Falls, Fayette, Fisher, Foard, Fort Bend, Franklin, Gregg, Grimes, Hardeman, Hartley, Hidalgo, Hill, Hood, Hopkins, Howard, Hunt, Jack, Jim Wells, Kaufman, Kimble, King, Knox, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Madison, Martin, Matagorda, McLennan, McMullen, Midland, Milam, Mills, Mitchell, Moore, Nacogdoches, Parker, Pecos, Rains, Reagan, Refugio, Robertson, Rusk, San Patricio, Scurry, Sherman, Stonewall, Sutton, Terrell, Trinity, Upshur, Upton, Walker and Washington;

New Mexico:  Union;

Oklahoma:  Cimarron, Cotton, Jackson and Tillman in Oklahoma


Beginning Nov. 1, 2019



Austin, Brooks, Hidalgo, and McMullen

Texas:  Atascosa, Cameron, Colorado, Duval, Fayette, Fort Bend, Frio, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, La Salle, Live Oak, Star, Waller, Washington, Webb, Wharton and Willacy


Beginning March 3, 2020


“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disasters and businesses directly impacted by the disasters,” Garfield said.

Small nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disasters not occurred.

“Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disasters only and not on any actual property damage. These loans have an interest rate as low as  3.75 percent for businesses and 2.75 percent for private nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship,” Garfield said.

By law, SBA makes economic injury available when the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster. The Secretary declared the declarations TX 16401 on March 7, 2020; and TX 16407 on March 18, 2020.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance. Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency about the U.S. Department of Agriculture assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration. However, in drought disasters nurseries are eligible for SBA disaster assistance.  

Applicants may apply online, receive additional disaster assistance information and download applications at Applicants may also call SBA’s Customer Service Center at (800) 659-2955 or email for more information on SBA disaster assistance. Individuals who are deaf or hard‑of‑hearing may call (800) 877-8339. Completed applications should be mailed to U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX  76155.




About the U.S. Small Business Administration

The U.S. Small Business Administration makes the American dream of business ownership a reality. As the only go-to resource and voice for small businesses backed by the strength of the federal government, the SBA empowers entrepreneurs and small business owners with the resources and support they need to start, grow or expand their businesses, or recover from a declared disaster. It delivers services through an extensive network of SBA field offices and partnerships with public and private organizations. To learn more, visit

Release Number: 
TX 16401, 16407-01
Release Date: 
Monday, March 30, 2020 - 11:30am
Richard Jenkins (916) 735-1500
Related State: 
Field Operations Center: