Jump to Main Content
USA flagAn Official Website of the United States Government
Disaster Press Releases

MT 13343-01 Disaster Assistance Available for Montana Small Buisnesses

Sacramento, CA – Small, nonfarm businesses in 30 Montana counties and neighboring counties in Idaho, North Dakota and South Dakota are now eligible to apply for low interest federal disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA).  “These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by the combined effects of early Spring frosts and freezes, drought, excessive heat, high winds, wildfires, insects, hail, lightning and tornadoes that began January 1, 2012, in the following primary counties,” announced Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West.

Primary Montana counties: Fallon, Glacier, Judith Basin, Madison, Rosebud and Teton;
Neighboring Montana counties: Beaverhead, Big Horn, Carter, Cascade, Chouteau, Custer, Fergus, Flathead, Gallatin, Garfield, Jefferson, Lewis and Clark, Meagher, Musselshell, Petroleum, Pondera, Powder River, Prairie, Silver Bow, Toole, Treasure, Wheatland, Wibaux  and Yellowstone;
Neighboring Idaho county: Fremont;
Neighboring North Dakota counties: Bowman, Golden Valley and Slope;
Neighboring South Dakota county: Harding.

“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster,” Judd said.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

“Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage.  These loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 3% for private, nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship,” Judd said.

By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster.  Secretary Tom Vilsack declared this disaster at the request of Governor Brian Schweitzer.  Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance.  Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency (FSA) about the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration.  However, in drought disasters nurseries are eligible for SBA disaster assistance.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling SBA toll-free at (800) 659-2955, emailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov, or visiting SBA’s Web site at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.  Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing may call (800) 877 8339.

The deadline to apply for these loans is June 10, 2013.

SBA Field Operations Center - West, P.O. Box 419004, Sacramento, CA 95841

Release Number: 
MT 13343-01
Release Date: 
Friday, October 12, 2012 - 4:00am
Richard Jenkins (916) 735-1500
Related State: 
Field Operations Center: