Jump to Main Content
USA flagAn Official Website of the United States Government
Disaster Press Releases

SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans Available to Oregon Small Businesses

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – Small, nonfarm businesses in the following counties are now eligible to apply for low interest federal disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA).  “These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by adverse weather conditions that occurred in the following primary counties,” announced Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center   West.

Disaster Declarations
EIDL # Primary Counties Neighboring Counties Incident Type Incident Date Deadline
13799 Baker, Umatilla and Union Grant, Malheur, Morrow and Wallowa in Oregon; Adams and Washington in Idaho; and Benton, Columbia and Walla Walla in Washington Freezing Temperatures 4/8 - 4/30/13 6/2/14
13800 Wasco Clackamas, Gilliam, Hood River, Jefferson, Marion, Sherman and Wheeler in Oregon; and Klickitat in Washington Freezing Temperatures and Excessive Rain 3/22 - 6/30/13 6/2/14
13801 Gilliam and Morrow Grant, Sherman, Umatilla, Wasco and Wheeler in Oregon; and Benton and Klickitat in Washington Freezing Temperatures and Extreme Heat 4/8 - 5/13/13 6/2/14

“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster,” Judd said.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

“Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage.  These loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 2.875% for private, nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship,” Judd said.

By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster.  Secretary Tom Vilsack declared this disaster at the request of Governor John Kitzhaber.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance.  Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency (FSA) about the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration. 

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela. 

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955 or e-mailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov.  Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing may call (800) 877-8339.  For more information about SBA’s disaster assistance programs, visit http://www.sba.gov/disaster. 


SBA Field Operations Center - West, P.O. Box 419004, Sacramento, CA 95841

Release Number: 
OR 13799, 13800, 13801-01
Release Date: 
Tuesday, October 22, 2013 - 4:00am
Richard Jenkins (916) 735-1500
Field Operations Center: