COVID-19 relief options and additional resources

About Us

About Our Office: 

Thank you for contacting the Washington Metropolitan Area District Office (WMADO) of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). As one of 68 district offices around the nation, WMADO's service territory covers the Washington Metropolitan Area, including the District of Columbia, Suburban Maryland (Montgomery County and Prince George's County), and Northern Virginia.

If you have reached this office from beyond the Washington Metropolitan Area, please contact your local SBA district office for immediate assistance. To locate your local office, please enter your zip code at

We are receiving a higher-than-usual volume of inquiries at this time. As we work to respond to your message, please review the following information, which may address your concern(s).

COVID-19 Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) Program

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) continues to accept new applications for COVID-19 EIDLs from small businesses. However, the SBA has stopped processing EIDL Advance requests, as funding for the grant portion of the Economic Injury Disaster Loan Program has been fully allocated. Please visit for more information.

If you would like to inquire about an existing COVID-19 EIDL application or account, please call the SBA Disaster Customer Service line (8am to 8pm ET) at 800-659-2955. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing may call 800-877-8339 (TTY). You may also send an email to

Paycheck Protection Program (PPP)

Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loans are issued directly by banks and other lenders, not the SBA. To locate a participating lender near you, please visit

Effective January 15, 2021, the PPP loan portal is reopened to eligible lenders with $1 billion or less in assets for First and Second Draw applications. Effective January 19, 2021, the portal is fully reopened to all participating PPP lenders to submit First and Second Draw loan applications to the SBA.

For the most up-to-date documents and related PPP information, please visit or If you have any questions regarding the status of your PPP application or loan, please contact your lender directly.

Shuttered Venue Operators Grant (SVOG)

Please visit for the most current information on this funding program, which is designed to help live venue operators or promoters; theatrical producers; live performing arts organization operators; relevant museum operators, zoos and aquariums (meeting specific criteria); motion picture theater operators; and talent representatives.

For detailed information on all SBA relief programs related to COVID-19, please visit or (en español).

Information on federal programs and services to help small businesses navigate the effects of COVID-19 may also be found at

For trusted small business counseling within the Washington Metropolitan Area (District of Columbia, Suburban Maryland and Northern Virginia), please contact one or more of the following SBA-funded resource partner organizations – all of which offer FREE, one-on-one mentoring sessions online and by phone, including guidance when applying for the above programs.

202-619-1000 (DC/Suburban MD/Northern VA)

Small Business Development Centers (SBDCs)
202-889-1550 (DC); 301-403-8300 (Suburban MD); 703-277-7703 (Northern VA)

Women’s Business Centers (WBCs)
202-393-8307 (DC); 301-315-8091 (Suburban MD); 703-768-1440 (Northern VA)

Veterans Business Outreach Center (VBOC)
703-768-1440 (DC/Suburban MD/Northern VA)

Best regards and please continue to stay safe,

SBA-Washington Metropolitan Area District Office Staff