President Biden announced important changes to the PPP, including a two-week window for businesses with fewer than 20 employees.

About Us

About Our Office: 

The Buffalo District Office's operating area includes the 14 Westernmost counties of New York State. The District Office located in the state's second most populous City of Buffalo, has a full service Branch in the state's third most populous City of Rochester. The two offices are well located so as to provide maximum assistance to the industrial cities in which located plus surrounding suburban communities and the rural counties of the District.

The Buffalo headquarters area includes the industrial centers of Buffalo, Niagara Falls, Jamestown, North Tonawanda, Lockport, Olean, and Batavia as well as the eight (8) Westernmost counties comprising the Niagara Frontier and the western part of the Southern Tier. The Rochester Branch serves the Rochester industrial area plus six (6) adjacent counties comprising the Genesee Valley - Finger Lakes Region.

The Buffalo District is a microcosm of the United States economy with a diverse but declining industrial base including heavy manufacturing and growing "hightech", retail, wholesale, and service sectors, a substantial dairy and agricultural industry plus large tourism attractions. Buffalo also serves as a major "Gateway to Canada".The District employs a modern system of highways, airports, and rail systems connecting hundreds of small towns and rural communities with larger cities. Numerous private colleges and universities compliment a large statewide university system.

With ample public utilities, modern roads, communications systems, and a close physical and cultural proximity to Ontario/Canada, Western New York offers an excellent environment for small business formation despite obvious tax burdens. In New York State there are over 451,000 businesses employing over seven million people. Of the total, about 55,000 businesses are in the Buffalo/Rochester District geographic area employing in excess of 450,000 people.Indeed, the 14 Western New York counties comprising the Buffalo/Rochester District represent a diverse economic base well situated to grow in the changing '00's.

The Buffalo District Office is responsible for the delivery of SBA's many programs and services to 14 counties in upstate New York.

Services Available

Over the years, the SBA has developed many small business loan and assistance programs, special outreach efforts and initiatives to aid and inform small businesses. The following describes briefly all the services and information available through this office:

  • Free counseling, advice and information on starting a business through the Service Corps of Retired Executives (SCORE).

  • Financial assistance for new or existing businesses through guaranteed loans made by area bank and non-bank lenders. The Buffalo District Office has grown from 500 loans representing $28 million and ten employees to more than more than 1,800 loans representing in excess of $175 million with 11 employees. For more information, call (716) 551-4301.

  • Free consulting services through the network of Small Business Development Centers. SBDCs also conduct training events throughout the district - some require a nominal registration fee.

  • Assistance to businesses owned and controlled by socially and economically disadvantaged individuals through the Minority Enterprise Development Program. Contact our Minority Enterprise Development Staff at (716) 551-3240 or e-mail Jennifer Talarico at for information.  

  • Women's Business Ownership Representatives are available to advise women business owners.

  • Special loan programs are available for businesses involved in international trade.

  • A Veterans Affairs Officer is available to counsel veterans.