2017 Hurricane Recovery: Get information about disaster assistance, or find out how you can help.

Utah District Award Winners

 The U.S. Small Business Administration recognizes successful small business owners and champions during its small business week activities each year.  Each district office receives nominations from businesses or individuals in their state.  Winners are selected on a local, regional, & national level.

The following Utah District Office award winners for 2012 were recognized at a luncheon at the Joseph Smith Memorial Building on May 14, 2012.  

Small Business Person of the Year
Karen S. Woodbury, Woodbury Technologies

Minority Small Business Champion of the Year & Region VIII Winner
Eddy Yujra, Independent Contractor

Home-Based Business Champion of the Year & Region VIII Winner
Sandra Lanier, Ephraim Co-op

Champions of Collaboration, Region VIII & National Winners
Brent Meikle, SBDC; Carlos Linares, SBDC; Jason Yerks, SBDC; Beverly King, SBDC;
Ken Fakler, SBDC; Ron Tucker, SCORE; Arnold Brown, SCORE; &
Pamela Okumura-Gerrard, WBC

Minority Economic Dev. 8(a) Small Business Person of the Year
Stan Nakamura, Nex-One, Inc.

Small Business Development Center Service Excellence
and Innovation Center Award
Lennart T. Erickson, St. George SBDC

Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Business of the Year
Steve Simpson, Barry Simpson, & Craig Simpson, Twin Rocks Café and Trading Post

Small Business Exporter of the Year
Christopher Newberry, Export Computer Exchange

Women in Business Champion of the Year
Diana George, Zions First National Bank

Financial Services Champion of the Year
Thomas T. Christopulos, Deputy Director, Ogden City

The Utah District Office is seeking nominations of outstanding small business owners and champions.  This is a great opportunity to give special recognition to a small business or a small business champion.  For information regarding eligibility and evaluation criteria, please contact Utah District Office at 801-524-3209.