SBA 2018 Washington State Small Business Awards Competition Guidelines

Small businesses contribute to local economies by bringing innovation to their community, providing employment opportunities, and attracting talent who invent new products or implement new solutions for existing ideas. The SBA Seattle District Office wants to recognize these small businesses.

We encourage our lenders, Chambers of Commerce, local organizations and business leaders to nominate Washington State based successful small business entrepreneurs for the SBA 2018 Small Business Awards Competition.

Preliminary nomination deadline:  December 18, 2017*

The SBA Seattle District Office invites you to nominate a local small business and/or an individual or organization dedicated to the small business community.  A company/owner may self-nominate.  SBA’s size standards ( apply in defining a business as small.  Nominees must be residents of the U.S. or its territories, will be subject to background checks, and must comply with federal civil rights laws.  Individuals may not be nominated for more than one award category.  See award descriptions below for specific nomination eligibility.    

Washington State Small Business Awards categories:

  • Small Business Person of the Year**
  • Small Business Exporter**
  • 8(a) Graduate of the Year**
  • Veteran-Owned Small Business
  • Millennial Entrepreneur – under age 35 by June 1, 2017
  • Family-Owned Small Business
  • Encore Entrepreneur –small business launched after the age of 50
  • Financial Services Champion
  • Small Business Champion

* fully completed nomination packets are due by January 9, 2018

** denotes categories in which state winners become finalists for national award

Nominations for the following National SBA Awards – along with the three aforementioned Washington state awards noted with an asterisk – can be made by visiting

  • National Small Business Person of the Year – chosen from state award winners
  • Exporter of the Year – chosen from state award winners
  • Phoenix Awards – recognizing outstanding accomplishments during disaster recovery
  • Small Business Prime Contractor of the Year
  • Small Business Subcontractor of the Year
  • The Dwight D. Eisenhower Award for Excellence – recognizes large prime contractors who have used small businesses as suppliers and contractors
  • SBA 8(a) Graduate of the Year – for the SBA’s 8(a) Business Development Program
  • Small Business Development Center (SBDC) Excellence and Innovation Award
  • Women’s Business Center (WBCs) of Excellence Award
  • Veterans Business Outreach Center Excellence in Service Award
  • Small Business Investment Company of the Year


File Attachments: 
Attachments Size
Fillable 2018 Nomination form WA Small Business Award Competition 124Kb